The Little Book of Lykke by Meik Wiking – Review

Today I am taking part in the Lykke Blog Tour to celebrate the release of The Little Book of Lykke. I loved Meik Wiking’s first book, The Little Book of Hygge (review here), so I was over the moon when Penguin contacted me and asked if I’d like to read an early copy. I am happy to report that I loved this book just as much as the first!
image1 (30)

Lykke (Luu-kah) (n): Happiness

The Little Book of Lykke: The Danish Search for the World’s Happiest People by Meik Wiking

  • UK Hardcover – 288 pages
  • Release date: 7th of September 2017
  • Published by Penguin Life
  • ISBN: 0241302013
  • Goodreads page for The Little Book of Lykke here!

This book takes us on a treasure hunt, looking for the keys to happiness around the world. The book discusses togetherness, money, health, freedom, trust and kindness. I liked that the book referred back to Denmark throughout as I love learning more about Denmark. This book not only helps you think about happiness, but also society, and ways in which the society you live in could improve.

I really enjoy Wiking’s writing. He uses an interesting mix of facts, case studies, real stories from his life and statistics. The book is also filled with photographs and graphs which break things up and add to how cheerful and cosy it is. I’m always surprised by how easy these books are to read, despite the amount of information we get.

What I love the most about these books is that they make me think about my life. They make you take a step back and realise that there are little changes you can make to be happier. His books always leave me feeling motivated and inspired, and I love that. As everything is based on facts and statistics you learn more about the world, especially through the treasure hunt in this book.

Goodreads currently doesn’t say if Wiking will be writing another book, but I really hope that he does. I’ll buy it straight away! Thank you to Penguin Life for sending me a copy to review and asking me to be part of this blog tour!lykke blog tour

If you want to check out the previous stops on the Lykke Blog Tour you can find them above!


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

6 thoughts on “The Little Book of Lykke by Meik Wiking – Review

Leave a Reply

