Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo – Review

Today I have my spoiler-free review of Wonder Woman: Warbringer for you. I was lucky enough to be sent an early copy by Penguin! This first book has made me so excited for the next 3 DC Icons books which will be about Batman, Superman and Catwoman.image1 (24)

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo – DC Icons #1

  • UK paperback – 384 pages
  • Release date:  31st of August 2017
  • Published by Penguin
  • ISBN: 0141387378
  • Goodreads page for Wonder Woman: Warbringer here!

This book was absolutely brilliant. I was excited going into this book, but a little hesitant as I don’t usually love books set in the US, but it ended up blowing me away! The plot took twists I never saw coming and I loved that it was set in Themyscira and Greece, as well as New York.

Bardugo’s writing is so captivating and I read the last 250 pages of this book in a single day because I was hooked. Having only read fantasy from her before, I was really excited to read a book set in the real world, and it definitely didn’t disappoint. Her world-building was incredible and she gives the reader such a clear picture of each new location.

Diana is wonderful. I am quite new to Wonder Woman, having only seen the film recently, but this book made me love her even more. I absolutely love the way Bardugo wrote her. The other POV we read from is Alia, a black girl from New York. I really loved Alia and I liked the way that Bardugo mentioned racial issues in the US, even for rich people, through her character. It’s always great seeing how normal people react in superhero type storylines and Alia was brilliant.

I also loved the rest of the characters: Nim who is Alia’s best friend, she is Indian and bisexual (I think), Jason who is Alia’s brother and Theo who is Jason’s best friend (who I think is Brazilian). I’ve never been to New York, so this might not be right, but I liked that the characters weren’t all white and straight. It felt like a realistic group of friends from such a multicultural city.

The story was so wonderful and, as I mentioned before, I could never tell where the plot was going. I loved how much Greek mythology was woven into the story. I also loved the way that goddesses from around the world were included and all existed. I just loved it all!DEeNMOEVYAAczBy

This is the exclusive pre-order artwork featuring the main charcters, by the artist Jen Bartel. The source of this image is here, where you can give proof that you’ve pre-ordered the book and get a free poster!


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

11 thoughts on “Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo – Review

  1. I am so looking forward to getting my hands on this book and the next two. I used to watch the original Wonder Woman, and have watched the new film and loved it, now I wanrt to read it too!

  2. Reading your review has made me so excited now to actually get my hands on and read the book for myself!

Leave a Reply

