Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean – Review

This evening I have a spoiler-free review of Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean for you. I am always on the lookout for books set in Scotland and so I was very pleased when I spotted this in Waterstones. Despite this being published by Usborne, who tend to publish books for children and younger teens, I absolutely adored this book!image2 (6)

Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean

  • UK hardcover – 336 pages
  • Release date:  1st of May 2017
  • Published by Usborne Publishing Ltd
  • ISBN: 1474921140
  • Goodreads page for Where the World Ends here!

This book is set on a sea stac in the St. Kilda archipelago. It follows a group of men and boys who become stranded there when the boat from Hirta does not return to collect them. It’s set in 1727 and based on a true story, a nightmare of a true story!

I wasn’t sure if this book would be a bit too young for me, but I absolutely loved it. McCaughrean’s writing is absolutely wonderful and I am so glad I picked this book up. Despite the book being set on one solitary sea stac, the world-building was brilliant. I loved the harsh, unforgiving and miserable setting and, from the research I’ve done on St. Kilda myself, I think the author really did those now abandoned islands justice.

I thought the character development was great and I really liked the POV we read from, a boy called Quilliam. We really got to know everyone as this book progressed and I loved that. The plot was really gripping, despite it’s one location, and I enjoyed learning more about their island of Hirta through memories, dreams and stories. I could never tell where the plot was going and it made me cry quite a few times. It’s best to go into this book not knowing much about the plot, but I definitely recommend it.

I loved finding great books set in Scotland and I love when beautiful books have an equally as beautiful story inside!image1 (22)


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

 

3 thoughts on “Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean – Review

  1. Great review I’m glad you enjoyed it, I’ve never heard of it but it sounds good I also think the cover is very beautiful. I have to tell you that I saw the image of the post and I had to go immediately to make myself a coffee lol 😄❤

Leave a Reply

