This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab – Review

I’ve been posting a lot of reviews lately, I’m so glad to be out of my reading slump. Me and Rabid Blog decided to buddy read This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab. I ended up reading the whole book in one day. I hardly ever read whole books in a single day, so that shows just how much I enjoyed it! Here is my spoiler-free review.image2 (4)

This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab – Monsters of Verity, #1

  • UK paperback – 411 pages
  • Release date: 7th of June 2016
  • Published by Titan Books
  • ISBN: 1785652745
  • Goodreads page for This Savage Song here!

This book had me hooked from the very beginning! I’d read some mixed reviews so wasn’t sure if I’d like it, turns out it was exactly what I was looking for and I absolutely loved it. I’m so annoyed at myself for not picking it up earlier. I got it when I met V.E. Schwab last summer and it’s been sitting on my bookcase ever since.

This book follows Kate, a human, and August, a monster. They live in a divided city, each side run by a different family with a very different outlook on life. I really enjoyed reading from the POV of the two heirs. I found myself liking each character, and though we don’t meet many characters in this book, I liked all of the ones we did. It is weird to say that Schwab always writes quite attractive villains? She writes evil characters so well.

I saw a few reviews saying that they found this book a little slow at the start, but I didn’t at all. I absolutely loved it, I think because the idea is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. It’s best to go into this book not knowing much, but I will say I loved the three types of monsters she created. I thought she created the perfect balance between telling us about the monsters and keeping them mysterious. It actually had me feeling a little freaked out.

I’m not sure if this is supposed to be an alternate future or a dystopian USA but I really enjoyed the setting. The world-building was subtly built throughout the story, but still gave the reader a good idea of what the city and surrounding area is like. I always wish books would give us maps, but I found myself immersed in the setting really quickly even without one.

I can’t wait to read the sequel Our Dark Duet, I ordered it as soon as I finished the first!


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

3 thoughts on “This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab – Review

Leave a Reply

