Wrap-Up: June 2017

JuneWrap-Up2017

Tonight I have my June wrap-up for you. This month I managed to read 6 books which I am very happy about. This makes June my best reading month since January 2016!

Versailles by Elizabeth Massie – 3/5 stars.Versailles

I recently became a fan of the BBC programme Versailles and so decided to read the book adaption of the TV series. I enjoyed this book however I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who hasn’t watched the series. It basically just has each scene from the TV programme written out, which gave a little extra information and an insight into the character’s heads, but I wish it had expanded on the scenes a little more.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee – 5/5 stars.tggtvav

I loved this book from the very first page. It is a historical fiction following two men, Percy and Monty, on a tour around Europe in the 1700’s. I thought this book was pretty close to being perfect and it made me so happy. It was great to read about gay characters in historical fiction. I have a full spoiler-free review of it here if you’re curious. Sadly the book is not out until August in the UK, but Harper360 were kind enough to send me an ARC.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – 5/5 stars.tsoa

So Karina’s Thoughts has been telling me to read this book for months, and I am so glad I finally picked it up. The world-building was amazing and I found it really easy to read, despite not knowing anything about Greek mythology. I loved Achilles and Patroclus and it was great to read a gay retelling of mythology. You can check out my full review here!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Nejma by Nayyirah Waheed – 4/5 stars.22523971

As you may know, this June was Ramadan, so I tried to loosely take part in the #RamadanReadathon by reading some books my Muslim authors on my TBR. I wasn’t sure if Waheed was Muslim, but she was on a list of Muslim authors on Goodreads. I really loved this poetry book, her writing is so enjoyable and she always covers many important topics through her poetry. I also loved her first book, Salt!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier – 5/5 stars.sots

I buddy read this book with some friends over on bookstagram and absolutely loved it. It is the sequel to Daughter of the Forest, which I have a spoiler-free review for here! These books follow a family through the generations in Ireland. The stories are a wonderful mix of Celtic / Irish folklore and history. Marillier’s writing is just amazing. I’d definitely recommend you check out her books. You can see my spoiler-free review here!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik – 5/5 stars.sk

This was the second book I read for the #RamadanReadathon. The wonderful Reading Hijabsy got me a copy for my birthday and I absolutely loved it. Sofia Khan is probably one of my favourite characters. I loved how sarcastic she was, reading about another writer and learning more about what Islam is to her. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. You can check out my spoiler-free review here!

Goodreads here and cover image source here!


I’ll be writing monthly wrap-ups throughout 2017. You can check out what I read in previous months here: JanuaryFebruary,  March & April & May!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

5 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: June 2017

Leave a Reply

