Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik – Review

I can’t believe this is the 6th book I’ve read in July. I haven’t had a reading month this good since January 2016! Today I have a spoiler-free review of Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged for you, I absolutely loved this book definitely recommend it!image1 (16)

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik – Sofia Khan, #1

  • UK paperback – 456 pages
  • Release date: 3rd of September 2015
  • Published by Twenty7
  • ISBN: 1785770039
  • Goodreads page for Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged here!

I absolutely loved this book. It follows Sofia Khan, a Muslim woman who has been asked to write a book about Muslim dating. Sofia is probably one of my favourite characters I’ve read about all year. She was so sarcastic and hilarious, as well as being compassionate and loving towards her friends and family. It was an absolutely joy to read from her POV.

I really enjoyed the format of this book. The chapters were split into months, and throughout each month we would get snippets from certain days, as well as emails and texts. We also saw chunks of Sofia’s book as she wrote it, including what she decided to edit out. The format made it such an easy read, but also got me completely hooked. Once I started reading I couldn’t put it down!

Reading about Sofia’s large Pakistani family was wonderful and I loved her group of friends. They gave the author a chance to highlight many issues that families and Muslim’s face, such as death, racism, infertility, divorce and alcoholism. This book made me cry on a very busy train, and I loved the mix of hilarity and tacking serious issues. It was great to read from a Muslim woman’s POV, and I really learned a lot about Islam (or at least what it is to her).

As she is writing a book about Muslim dating, and she’s 30 and unmarried, Sofia goes on dates. We see a few potential love interests throughout the book – including her ex-fiance. I really liked this as it gave the author a chance to explore topics such as homosexuality, differing levels of faith and Islam from different backgrounds. I did not expect where the romance went at all. It took me up until the book was almost over before I realised what was happening.

I enjoyed the romance, but I know some people had an issue with where it ended up (which is understandable). I am curious to see how the second book deals with what happened.

Sofia has a very sarcastic sense of humour, like many people in the UK. This led to her mentioning self-harm and talking about her weight in a sarcastic way that, to some, may seem a little insensitive or be triggering!

I need to say a huge thank you to The Reading Hijabsy for giving me a copy of this book for my birthday. I can’t wait to read book two!


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

11 thoughts on “Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik – Review

  1. Yeah I’m one of those people who had an issue with how it ended. I still liked it and shipped it, but I sort of wished it was different at the same time. Haha this reminds me that I should post my review on my blog too 🙈😂

    1. Yeah, yours was the one I meant hehe. I’m glad you mentioned that in your review, I was too busy being surprised to really notice! Curious to see what happens in book two!

      1. I didn’t really notice it at first. But it took me about a week to find time to actually write a review and that’s when it came to me. I’ve heard book 2 is sadder though, so now I’m worried 😅

  2. I still really need to read this book, but it’s high on my TBR. Thanks for reminding me, and for an awesome review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

