Wrap-Up: April & May 2017

April &MayWrap-Up

Today I have my April & May wrap-up for you. I only read two books in April, so decided to wait and combine them with the four books I read in May! I only managed to read six books in the last two months because of exams, editing my own book and the internet. I am hoping to have a really good reading month in June!

April

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston – 4/5 starsTV

I wasn’t sure if I would give this book 3 or 4 stars, but went with 4 because I just can’t help but love books featuring Celtic tribes. I liked the main character Fallon, though she was a little inconsistent at times. I found that she contradicted herself a few times when it came to her thoughts on slavery, as both Celtic tribes and the Romans had slaves. I loved the female friendships in this book and hope to learn more about the others in the next book. I felt like the romance was pretty pointless, this would have been the perfect book to write some amazing f/f romance, but maybe next time! My full spoiler-free review is here!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking – 5/5 starshygge

This was such an interesting and cheerful read. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this book, but was pleasantly surprised by all the graphs and statistics used throughout to back up the authors claims. Hygge is a very interesting concept and I loved learning about how it’s thread through Danish culture, both in positive and negative ways. You can find my full review here!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

May

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – 5/5 stars23766634

I have loved every book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy, and this final story from Feyre’s POV was no exception. You can find my full spoiler review here! I sat down to read this book and ended up completing it in 13 hours, I’ve never read so much in one day before. I was completely hooked. I thought that the character development and world building was amazing, and I felt like this time Maas attempted to add more diversity (as it’s well know that her books lack it). I won’t say much as it’s the final book, but I really loved it.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Great Wood by Jim Crumley – 4/5 starstgw

I picked up this book because I want to read more non-fiction, especially now that I have completed my undergrad degree. This is the first ‘nature writing’ book I have ever read and I found it really interesting. It was more autobiographical that I expected, and I really learned a lot about the Great Wood of Caledon in Scotland, but also about forests in general. I will definitely be reading more nature writing in the future.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Resistance by Josephine Boyce – 5/5 stars.

33972363

I was lucky enough to read an early copy of Resistance. I loved the first book Rebellion, you can find my review here if you want to learn more. This is a dystopian series set in a future Europe where the Global Defence Organisation has taken over. I absolutely love these books and always find them to be such easy and gripping reads!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – 5/5 stars.wsabf

I have been meaning to read this book for such a long time, and I am so glad I finally did. It’s such a wonderful and concise introduction to feminism. I wish I had read a book like this whilst I was in high school and still discovering what feminism is. I liked that Adichie used lots of examples from her life in Nigeria throughout the essay. She also discussed the ways in which language can be used to question, and silence, a person’s specific experiences, which I thought was very eye-opening.

Goodreads and cover image source here!


I’ll be writing monthly wrap-ups throughout 2017. You can check out what I read in previous months here: JanuaryFebruary & March!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

14 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: April & May 2017

  1. I’ve been meaning to read We Should All Be Feminists for the longest time, too! I just bought her novel Americanah because one of my English professors recommended it to me. I’ve heard fantastic things about all of her writing, so I’m really looking forward to reading a bunch of it this summer.

    Happy June! 🙂

Leave a Reply

