My Historical Fiction TBR

I am writing this blog post because I am currently in the mood to buy books, but I am on a ban. I started watching Versailles, set in 1600s France, and I am absolutely loving it. It’s put me in such a historical fiction mood so I thought I’d write this post and share some of the historical fiction books on my TBR that I am most excited to read!image1 (12)Versailles by Elizabeth MassieVersailles

This book is basically every scene from the first series of Versailles written in novel form. This means that it seems to have lots of short scenes and no chapters. I was a little worried that it would be a script, so I am glad to see that it’s more of a novel. I can’t wait to read this, relive series one inside all of the character’s heads and pick up on information I likely missed! I’m not sure I would recommend if you haven’t seen the TV programme yet, as it would spoil it all.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Leetggtvav

This is set in the 18th century and follows two friends, Monty and Percy, as they go on a grand tour of Europe. They stumble upon a magic artefact which turns their tour into a dangerous manhunt. It also looks as if romance may blossom between the two of them! I was lucky enough to be sent a copy of this book by Harper360 and can’t wait to get reading! Historical ficition, adventure and a gay romance sounds like a perfect book.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Spy for the Queen of Scots by Theresa Breslinsftqos

I’ve been really interested in Mary Queen of Scots ever since we studied her in primary school, and visited Holyrood Palace in Edinburgh, though I have never read a book about her! The author of this book is Scottish, and it’s oddly rare to find Scottish books written by Scottish authors, so I picked this book up straight away! I am really looking forward to this one which follows Jenny (whom I assume is fictional) one of Mary’s ladies-in-waiting!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Viking Hostage by Tracey Warrtvh

This book is set in 10th century France and Wales and weaves together the story of three women across Europe. A Norwegian pagan, the heiress to the French fortress of Segur and the daughter of the Viscount of Limoges. I love the idea of a story combining three women with very different backgrounds, and can’t wait to pick this one up! A huge thank you to Impress Books for sending this one my way.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregorytlotr

I couldn’t create a blog post about historical fiction without including a Philippa Gregory book! I found a bundle of her books really cheap on Book People a while ago. I plan to start with this one as its set in 1430 and I want to read them following histories timeline. This book follows Jacquetta who is married to the English regent of France. I am so excited to finally read a Gregory book.

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weirkoa

Alison Weir is another big name in historical fiction and this is the only book of hers that I own. This is the first book in her series about each of King Henry VIII’s wives, following Katherine of Aragon. I love the idea of a book following each of the Queens so I am very excited to start this one. Thank you to the US Random House who sent me a copy of this book. I must admit, I am much prefer the UK covers of this series, but it’s such a nice hardcover.


I hope you enjoyed today’s blog post, if you have any historical fiction recommendations I would love to hear them.

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

Posted in TBR

10 thoughts on “My Historical Fiction TBR

  1. Philippa Gregory’s War of the Roses series is a bit hit and miss I found. Some – this one and The White Queen – are much stronger than others. I binged on them last summer when I found a set second hand on Amazon 🙂

      1. It wasn’t so much the historical accuracy as the plot and characterisation. The Red Queen is weaker on that if I remember correctly… I didn’t know much about that period either when I started – I thought it was really interesting. Have you watched the Starz TV adaptations?

        1. I watched the White Queen when it was on the BBC but the White Princess hasn’t been picked up by the BBC so I think it didn’t do very well here!

  2. I really need to read A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. I don’t really read much historical fiction as I’m one of those history nuts who need accuracy or gets frustrated. Philippa Gregory does seem to be a good one to go with those as she pops up in history documentaries from time to time.

    1. I like history but unless it’s something specific I’ve researched then I’ll not really notice the inaccuracy. I’ve heard such good things about Gentleman’s Guide!

Leave a Reply

