A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – Spoiler Review

Today I have a review of A Court of Wings and Ruin, my most anticipated book of 2017. This review will contain some spoilers, so do not read if you haven’t finished it yet. If you follow me here, or on Instagram, then you know I am a huge Sarah J. Maas fan so this review is likely very biased! If you’re not a fan of her books, or this series, then this probably isn’t the review for you.image1 (9)Feyre candle – Meraki Candles & print – Her Bookish Things.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.

  • UK paperback – 699 pages
  • Release date: 2nd of May 2017
  • Published by Bloomsbury Childrens books
  • ISBN: 1408857901
  • Goodreads page for A Court of Wings and Ruin here!

I sat down to start reading this book, and 13 hours later I was finished! I don’t think I have ever read a full size book in one sitting before, and certainly not one that is 700 pages long. From the first page until the last page I was completely hooked which surprised me as I found the first 300 pages of A Court of Mist and Fury a little difficult to get through.

I was really nervous going into this book because we didn’t know how Maas ends series. I felt like she did a really good job of wrapping up the whole plot, however I wished the ending wasn’t quite so abrupt. I could have read another 100 pages of everyone back in Velaris enjoying their lives. As we have two novellas and three more books coming, I am hoping we will find out more about them after the battle.

The character development in this series was phenomenal. Not just of Feyre and Rhys, but of her sisters, the inner circle, Lucien, Tamlin and the High Lords. Thinking back to Feyre in A Court of Thorns and Roses and Feyre now, she has grown so much. Becoming so much more confident and really accepting that she deserves love and happiness.

The world building was also absolutely brilliant, and has me so excited to see where in the world she will take us to next. The map shows is the Faerie Realms, with the kingdoms of Montesere and Vallahan being quite detailed. The map also points east to Rask and Scythia, so I have a feeling we will be seeing more of those in future books.

It is no secret that both of Maas’s fantasy worlds are very eurocentric and lacking in diversity. I felt like in this book she was really trying to be more inclusive by adding characters of different skin tones and actually saying if they were black (aka one of my favourite High Lords, Helion). She also included some gay, bisexual and lesbian characters which was great to finally see. When it was revealed that Mor is bisexual I was so happy. I love that Mor admitted that she prefers females, and I hope to see her story continued in a book or novella.

As expected, this book has some wonderful saucy scenes. It is just so brilliant to see characters in books in happy relationships and enjoying their sex life. I know not everyone is comfortable reading sex scenes, so just keep in mind that they are pretty explicit – you would not miss any plot points by skipping forward a few pages! I know some had an issue with the bisexual characters being very sexual, as that’s a common trope, but I must admit that I loved that before I realised it was a trope. Helion really reminded me of Oberyn from Game of Thrones, whom I love.

I love how Sarah used folklore and mythology from around the world in this story, weaving it in with her own unique ideas to create a dense, rich fantasy world that I want to read about forever. The main two I noticed in ACOWAR were: the poisoned apple, which is of course a Snow White reference, and Nephelle’s story with the sea parting like Moses and the Red Sea. I know Sarah is Jewish, so I thought it was great that she included that. I imagine that was a really important reference for her to weave in.

Cait – A Page With a View has a great list of the references to folklore and mythology that she found in A Court of Wings and Ruin, you can find that post here!!

This book made me smile at the banter between the members of the Inner Circle, my heart pound with its plot twists and revelations, and made me desperate to read more books following these characters! A brilliant end to one of my favourite trilogies ever.

My theories regarding future books:

  1. A book about Queen Vassa, the Queen cursed to be human by day and firebird by night. Sarah went to great lengths to explain that she is trapped by the Weaver and Bone Carver’s brother in the Faerie Realms. I also remember her saying she wanted to write a book inspired by Vasilisa the Beautiful, and the names are very similar.
  2. I am hoping that one day we get a book that includes both the Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses world. She has said a Wyrd gate could be opened between them both!
  3. As I love reading books about sisters, I hope the novellas are about Nesta and Elaine after the end of A Court of Wings and Ruin. We know she loves Nessian, and always ships characters with others, so I have a feeling she’ll complete both of their stories.

For a more eloquent review than I could ever write try Cait – A Page With A View or Brittney – Her Bookish Things! Cait’s especially as she discusses some of the lines which, out context, appear very harmful and aphobic. No author or book is perfect, so all you can really do is read reviews which discuss what was said and decide whats best for you. No book is worth it if you think it’ll harm you!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

12 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – Spoiler Review

  1. love everything you wrote but don t you think that de last 50 pages are not what you expected to be. In book 1 asi in ACOMAF she made the best finals ever, and then in this one is like another person has written this… is like seeing Aladin and it is so not her that i can t accept that this is the end of feysand triology!!

    but thanks, you were one of the best review i ve read!!

  2. I literally saved this post for when I finished, and now I have, here I am 😆 I love your theories about the future books! I’m so bad at coming up with my own theories but I find it so interesting to see what other people think. Especially how you picked up on the Vasilisa/Vassa coincidence. I’d not seen Sarah say she wants to write things inspired by that (I don’t watch interviews etc so I never know what’s going on 😆 ) but it does seem too much like a coincidence!

    1. Thanks for reading gal! I never usually write spoiler reviews, so this was a lot of fun! Haha I think I’ve watched every interview she’s done (or at least I hope so)

        1. Hmm maybe! I watched an interview where she said she knows who / what the first two standalones will be about. But they sell so well & she loves it so much lets hope for a trilogy haha

Leave a Reply

