Top 5: Auto Buy Authors

Melissa, who blogs over at Rabid.Reads, said she was doing a post about her auto buy authors, so I thought I would do one as well. Creating this list made me realise just how many of the books I own I haven’t read yet… so I didn’t have many favourite authors to pick from but I am happy with my list! I hope you enjoy, let me know who your auto buy authors are!

1. Sarah J. Maasqsjm

If you have been following my blog or Instagram then this wont be a surprise for you. Sarah really inspired me to start writing, and her book Heir of Fire is my favourite book in the whole world. As she is writing more books in the A Court of Thorns and Roses world and still has to finish the Throne of Glass series I’ll definitely be buying all of her future books. I love the way she often weaves Celtic folklore into her worlds, and I hope we see a more diverse range of characters in future projects. She also has a Catwoman book out in 2018 which I can’t wait for!

2. Roshani Chokshircc

I read Roshani’s first book The Star-Touched Queen, and absolutely fell in love with her writing style and her Indian mythology inspired fantasy. I also adored her short story The Vishakanya’s Choice so I now know I’ll buy anything she writes! Roshani has been absolutely lovely anytime we have spoken, and I am so excited to see where her writing career takes her. She has a YA novel called The Gilded Wolves and a middle grade called Aru Shah and the End of Time coming in 2018 and I can’t wait to read both!

3. Susanna Kearsleysk

On my quest to find good books set in Scotland I discovered Canadian author Susanna Kearsley. I have read two of her books so far, The Winter Sea and The Shadowy Horses, and absolutely adored each of them. It is clear from her writing just how well researched each novel is and I love how respectful she is in admitting that she is not from Scotland, she is simply writing stories set here. She has a few others set in other locations around the UK and Europe, and I can’t wait to read more. Goodreads says her next book will be called Bellewether, and I will definitely be buying that!

4. Elizabeth Mayem

I absolutely adore The Falconer and The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May. They are set in a steampunk 18th century Edinburgh with fae! It such a well researched series and the Scottish folklore weaved throughout the story is honestly everything I’ve ever wanted in life! The final book The Fallen Kingdom is out this June and I couldn’t be more excited. On Twitter May has spoken about writing another series set in Scotland so I am keeping my eye out for news about that in the next few years. I think I once saw her talk about writing romance, but that may have been a dream or my brain telling me what I wanted to happen… Either way, I’m excited for anything she publishes!

5. Yaa Gyasiyg

I read Gyasi’s first book Homegoing at the beginning of this year and absolutely loved it. I think it is probably the most important and eye-opening book I have read since I started bookstagram and blogging. I cannot recommend it enough. Though I have only read one book by Gyasi, I will definitely be ordering any of her future books the moment I hear about them! Homegoing was so wonderfully written and well researched that I can’t wait to see what she does next.

Image sources: Sarah J Maas – Entertainment Weekly (2016), Roshani Chokshi – Twitter: @NotRashKnee, Susanna Kearsley – Goodreads, Elizabeth May – GoodreadsYaa Gyasi – Time (2016).


I hope you enjoyed this post and found some new books to add to your TBR! As I said at the start I have a lot of unread books, so I will probably come back and share 5 more of my auto buy authors in a year or so!

Let me know who your auto buy authors are, or create your own blog post! I’d love to see it!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

You can add my first book, The Changeling’s Journey, on Goodreads here!

12 thoughts on “Top 5: Auto Buy Authors

  1. I haven’t heard of Elizabeth May before, but I’ll definitely be adding The Falconer and The Vanishing Throne to my TBR list! I love all things Edinburgh and Scottish folklore, and steampunk seems like a cool concept to weave through all that.

    1. Her first book is good, but the second one is absolutely amazing! If she gets better with each book then I am so excited for the third. I hope you enjoy if you do pick them up!

  2. Sarah J Maas will forever and always be my top auto-buy author. I just love her writing soooo much. And HoF is my favourite as well!! Whenever I go to re-read a book, it is always that one because it is just soooooo freakin good!! There are a few other authors here I haven’t even heard of so will definitely be keeping an eye out for their books 🙂

    1. Yay! Heir of Fire is the best! I am considering rereading it soon. Ooh well I hope I have helped you find some new books! Sarah blurbed both The Star-Touched Queen and The Falconer if you need more convincing hehe

      1. Only problem about reading HoF is that I then want to read QoS then EoS…and it’s still too early for me to re-read EoS 😭 But I will DEFINITELY look at those books, especially if they have Sarahs mark of approval 😊

Leave a Reply

