The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking – Review

Today I have a spoiler-free review of The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking for you. I’ve been meaning to pick this book up for months, and finally gave in after seeing it for £5 in the shops. I am so glad I finally bought it as it was such an interesting and cheerful read! I really felt like a learned a lot about both hygge and Denmark.image1 (8)

The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking.

  • UK hardcover – 287 pages
  • Release date: 16th of November 2016
  • Published by Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 0241283914
  • Goodreads page for The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well here!

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book, and was pleasantly surprised by the number of graphs and statistics used throughout. Wiking uses figures and quotes to back up his detailed explanation of hygge. It was like I was reading a research paper, but one that’s very accessible and filled with pictures and recipes!

Hygge is a very interesting concept, and I loved learning more about it. It’s was great to read about how it’s intertwined with Danish culture and society. The book even mentioned some of its negative aspects, which was great to see. I feel like I’ve learned a lot more about Denmark through learning about hygge. Wiking gives many suggestions about how the reader can make a conscious effort to introduce it to their own lives.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a positive read or who wants to learn more about Denmark. It’s a book that will definitely stick with me for a long time and it really made me think about my own life.


Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking – Review

Leave a Reply

