The Valiant by Lesley Livingston – Review

Today I have a spoiler-free review of The Valiant by Lesley Livingston for you. This book caught my attention as it follows Fallon, a Celtic warrior, captured and forced to become a female gladiator in Rome. I love books about the Celtic tribes and so I bought it straight away!image1 (5)The Valiant by Lesley Livingston – The Valiant #1.

  • US hardcover – 372 pages
  • Release date: 14th of February 2017
  • Published by Razorbill
  • ISBN: 0448493780
  • Goodreads page for The Valiant here!

I struggled to decided if I was going to give this book 3 or 4 stars, but I decided on 4 because I just can’t help but love books about Celtic tribes! I did have some problems with this book, although I enjoyed it overall and would reccomend!

I liked the main character Fallon, however I felt like she was a little inconsistent and frustratingly stubborn at times. The Celtic tribes in Britain had slaves, like the Roman Empire, and I would have liked to have seen that discussed a little more. We see hints of remorse from Fallon about it, but then she contradicts herself. I noticed that she looks down on other woman a few times, which I wasn’t a fan of. Other than those few moments, I enjoyed reading from her POV and she was overall an enjoyable character.

I can’t help but love books about Celtic tribes! It’s always so interesting to read about them, and I loved how much she talked about the goddess Morrigan throughout this book. I liked reading about Rome, but I can’t say much about how accurate it was written as the Roman Empire isn’t something I’ve done much research on. It definitely made me want to read other books set there!

The female friendships in this book were great, and I loved the sisterhood between the female gladiators. I love reading about sisters. I’m definitely excited for the second book, The Defiant, as I really enjoyed the plot in this one. The romance was quite annoying, and I felt like it really wasn’t needed (especially considering how much Fallon is supposed to hate the Romans). I also felt like this would have been a great book for a f/f relationship, so I hope that happens in book two!


Have you read The Valiant? Let me know what you thought. Although I had a few problems with it I would definitely reccomend, espeically to those who like reading about Celtic tribes!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

One thought on “The Valiant by Lesley Livingston – Review

Leave a Reply

