Top 5: Book Series I Won’t Finish

This weekend I thought I would tell you about five book series I don’t plan on continuing. On this blog I only talk about, and review, books I have enjoyed so I am excited to be talking about books I didn’t like so much (+ the one I hated). Each of these is pretty popular and was released a while ago, so I don’t feel too bad for saying I’m not continuing.

I only hated one of these books, so if you have any of the others on your TBR I still reccomend you read them. Don’t let this post sway you. Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

1. Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon – Doon

d

I don’t often talk about books I dislike, but Doon was honestly the worst book I have ever read in my life. It follows two America teenagers who travel to Scotland, and it was the first time I’ve actually felt insulted by a book. The authors did not research Scotland at all. In one of the first chapters they call a scone a PASTRY… they couldn’t even be bothered to Google scones! The characters were immature and even the fantasy world was badly written. It makes me so sad to think that Americans read this book and think Scotland is like this, because I promise you it is not. Why did I start this rant… Oh yeah, I won’t be continuing with this series… You can check out my full rambling review here on Goodreads!

Goodreads and image source here!

2. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – The Witchlands

t

This is a very popular books series, so I know I am one of the few who did not love this book. I won’t be continuing this series because I wasn’t the biggest fan of Dennard’s writing. I felt like this book left me with a lot of unanswered questions, but little motivation to continue and find answers. I’m also not a big fan of instant romance. It’s a pity I wont be continuing because the covers are gorgeous and the magic was really interesting.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

3. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – The Winner’s Trilogy

twc

I read the first two books in this series, then started the third but never managed to finish it. For some reason I never really liked the main character and so found it difficult to have much interest in her story. I prefer books with a lot more world-building than these, as they focus more on politics, so it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – Red Queen

rd

I enjoyed this book when I read it, but I didn’t love it as much as a lot of other people did. Again I wasn’t the biggest fan of the instant romance and felt like the more character building was needed. Everyone talked about a big plot point in the book (I won’t say what) so I knew what would happen before it even happened. This was one of those books that finished well so I’m content not to read the rest of the series.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

5. The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell – The Saxon Stories

tlk

When I read this book I actually really enjoyed it and liked the historical setting. However, as time has gone on my enthusiasm for this series has faded. I ended up giving away my copy of the second book when I had a clear out. I have no real reason for not continuing, so if you are looking for a good book set in 866 about the Viking invasions then I would still recommend it. I’m not just as bothered anymore.

Goodreads and image source here!


Let me know if you’ve read any of these, and what book series you wont be continuing!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest.

18 thoughts on “Top 5: Book Series I Won’t Finish

  1. Since i’m Scottish I really want to find good books that are set here and I have heard great things about Doon, only by people who aren’t Scottish! So hearing why you didn’t like it, makes me re-think my decision about reading the series.

    1. It’s literally the worst thing ever, me and FictionTea read it and both hated it (and we are Scottish as well)! If you’re looking for good books I’d suggest The Falconer, which is YA! Or Outlander, or any of Susanna Kearsley’s books set in Scotland. I’m still on the lookout for more!

      1. I actually really want to read The Falconer because of what you’ve said about it on twitter!😊 I have read Outlander and really did not like it😕

        1. I think you’d like The Falconer more as Outlander is really dense. I am enjoying the Outlander series less as it goes on tbh, I think I just loved it really biased-ly (that’s not a word) because it’s in Scotland haha.

    1. Yeah, I definitely felt like them being best friends was supposed to be a focus but it never showed. I also felt that this need to show the friendship took a lot away from the plot.

  2. I read the winners curse and didn’t really enjoy it. I’d heard so many amazing things about it so my expectations were really high. I didn’t like the main character or the romance, basically it was just such a let down 😔! Glad I’m not the only one who was disappointed with it though.

    1. Yeah it was one of the first YA books I read so my expectations were high as well. For some reason her whole piano playing hobby annoyed me, it just didn’t feel realistic at all haha.

  3. Totally feel the same way about Truthwitch and Susan Dennard’s writing! There’s something about it that just leaves me extremely confused like we are supposed to know all of this information that is never provided to us.. I always felt like I was missing something..

    1. I’m glad it wasn’t just me, it’s such a popular book! I definitely think there were too many unanswered questions, so by the end I felt like I didn’t really know anyone and that hardly anything had happened!

  4. I absolutely hate it when countries other than America aren’t portrayed accurately. I remember watching The Simpsons episode of when they go to Australia, and it made me hate The Simpsons, because they made us sounds like a bunch of idiots. I can imagine coming from Scotland you would cop the same kind of crap, with people trying to do your accent, or being stereotypical. Anyway, sorry for the rant, it just really annoys me. I didn’t like the Red Queen, I actually stopped reading it after like, 160 pages. I just found it like every other YA book out there, and yes, the insta-love was an issue for me as well.

    1. Yeah, sometimes a stereotypical portrayal can be amusing and then other times it’s just annoying. I can’t imagine how bad it must be for other countries, especially not English speaking ones which are probably portrayed even worse! Yeah, it did remind me of a lot of others books – sometimes I don’t mind, but this time I wasn’t a fan!

  5. Lovely post 💕
    I totally agree with The Winner’s Curse! I didn’t like the main character and the overall story just fell flat for me so I’m hesitant about continuing with it. The same with Red Queen, I think it had too much hype surrounding it.

    1. Thank you for reading! Yeah I think hype can really be an issue, I try to find reviewers who have disliked the same books as me and see their opinions on hyped books.

Leave a Reply

