Wrap-Up: February 2017

products

I’m quite organised this month and uploading my wrap-up on the first day of March! I had an odd reading month – I read two full books then got sidetracked a little and ended up only reading two shorter stories. Let me know if you’ve read any of these, and what you read this month!

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva – 5/5 stars

tlo

I was sent this book in 2016 by Random House, but for some reason didn’t pick it up until this month. I absolutely LOVED this book! It’s definitely won itself a spot on my top 10 books of 2017. It follows a woman called Zoo who takes part in a survival reality TV programme, what she doesn’t realise is that something terrible has happened in the outside world.

In this book we got chapters from Zoo’s POV trying to survive and thinking she is completing solo missions, occasional chapters which are show online comments from the public about the programme, and finally chapters which show the first week of the survival programme. I could talk about this book forever, so I’ll link you to my spoiler-free review!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh – 3/5 stars

twatd

I absolutely loved the setting in this book as I hadn’t read a YA book set in Arabia / the Middle East before. Ahdieh’s descriptive writing style made it so easy to imagine the setting. The romance in this book made me very uncomfortable at the start, but somehow in the last 100 pages I ended up shipping it! I liked some of the minor characters more than the main character, but she was still an interesting POV to read from. I’ll need to pick up the next book at some point, but I’m not sure when!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

The Moth & The Flame by Renee Ahdieh – 3/5 stars

tmatf

This is a novella from the same world as The Wrath & The Dawn following the two minor characters, Jalal and Despina, who I loved. I had hoped to see more of them together in this novella but it was mainly from Despina’s POV and told us more about what happened before the first book in the series. It was interesting, but I had hoped for a little more.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Corrupt by Penelope Douglas – 3/5 stars

c

I asked one of my best friends BookwormEverlasting to recommend the smuttiest book she knew, as I wanted to read something out of my norm. I ended up completely hooked and flew through this book in 24 hours! It was hard for me to decide what to rate this book as the story was crazy and problematic, but also saucy and a really enjoyable read. The author pulled no punches when it came to writing sex scenes, so be aware of that before you go into it. There was also some dubious consent at times. I think this is a good book if you want to read something crazy and different, the writing was surprisingly good as well!

Goodreads and cover image source here!


I’ll be writing monthly wrap-ups throughout 2017. You can check out what I read in previous months here: January!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

13 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: February 2017

  1. Sorry you weren’t totally in love with the Wrath and Dawn. I’ve really been dating on reading it because I love the cover, but at the same time I’m not sure if I’d fully enjoy the book or not. However, I have been super into fantasy lately so maybe I should give it a try! 😀

    -Amber

    1. Yeah, I just really didn’t feel comfortable with the romance so that put me off. By the end the story was quite exciting though. The majority of people seemed to love it!

  2. I’ll have to check The Last One as it sounds amazing but I haven’t heard anything about it before!
    Corrupt is/was in my TBR because I constantly add it or quit it. I have enjoyed other books by the author and that’s why it’s in my TBR and as you said, it’s something that for me seems addictive and that I will enjoy.
    Hope you have a great March!

    1. Yeah, I hadn’t heard about The Last One before either! It was so good, I still can’t stop thinking about it! Hope you enjoy if you pick up Corrupt, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

