Wrap-Up: January 2017

januarywrap-up2017

Last year I did a few monthly wrap-up’s but then ended up getting into reading slumps and not continuing them. In 2017 I am determined to have a better reading year. I did quite well in January, so I am bringing the wrap-up’s back! I hope you enjoy.

The Summer Palace by C. S. Pacat – 5/5 stars

tsp

I started the month off with this short story. It follows the main characters from the Captive Prince trilogy, so is an epilogue. I absolutely loved it! If you’ve never read this series then you may know it deals a lot with slavery, so that’s something to be wary of. However, the character development has been absolutely wonderful and this short story tackled a lot of the issues between characters. It also had surprisingly amazing world-building and has left me dying for more!

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco – 3/5 stars

sjtr

Next I read this book which is set in 18th century London and follows Audrey who helps her uncle work on cadavers. I had mixed feelings about this book. Some parts of it I loved and some I really didn’t. The plot was filled with twists and turns which were interesting, but I did manage to guess the ending. I liked the main character, however I hated the way she treated other woman. I expected her to be quite feminist but instead she was happy to simply leave the other women behind, always thinking about how forward she was. Despite that I did still enjoy this book, and will probably read the next one in 2018.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi – 5/5 stars

hgyg

It’s only January but I have already found one of my favourite books of the year. You can read my full review of it here! To summarise, it begins with Effia and Esi two sisters in the Gold Coast of Africa and follows their families down through the generations in America and what is now Ghana. Each character was so interesting and I absolutely love Gyasi’s writing! It tackled a lot of issues such as the transatlantic slave trade, post-colonialism and racism in America. A very important read! I also thought the ending was perfect.

Goodreads and cover image source here!

Salt by Nyyirah Waheed – 5/5 stars

salt

Finally, I picked up this poetry book after my sister recommended it, and I am so glad I did. It is a wonderful collection of poems tacking important issues and themes such as post-colonialism, racism and being part of the diaspora from Africa. The poems were uplifting and unapologetic, and I found them to be really eye-opening. I would definitely recommend! It’s also always brilliant to support self-published authors.

Goodreads and cover image source here!


I hope you enjoyed January’s Wrap-Up and that you liked the image I made for it (I’m quite proud!) This month I was back at university and getting organised, so hopefully I will manage to read more than four books in February!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

10 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: January 2017

  1. You had a really great reading month! Three 5 stars out of the four books you read? HOW? 😆 I need to choose my books more wisely, my average has been 3 stars this month ahaha

Leave a Reply

