My 10 Favourite Books of 2016

In 2016 read 41 books, so didn’t reach my Goodreads goal of 50 books. I did however finish writing my book as well as writing my dissertation for university, so I’m happy with 41 books! You can see all of the books I read this year and my reviews here on Goodreads!

Here is a little summary of how I rated books in 2016: 5 stars – 22 books, 4 stars – 15 books, 3 stars – 3 books, 2 stars – 1 book!

Keep reading to see my 10 favourite books that I read in 2016! Let me know what your favourites were!

1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This year I finally started reading Leigh Bardugo’s books and absolutely loved them. I enjoyed her Grisha trilogy, but Six of Crows was even more amazing. Such a diverse and interesting mix of characters, and I love the world she created. I haven’t read the final book Crooked Kingdom yet, but I am looking forward to that in 2017.soc

Goodreads and cover image source here!

2. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

I loved the first book in this trilogy, A Court of Thorns and Roses, but A Court of Mist and Fury was absolutely amazing. I can’t believe how much I loved it! I always thought that Maas’s Throne of Glass series would be my favourite of hers, but now this trilogy has definitely taken over. I can’t wait for the final book A Court of Wings and Ruin in 2017!acomaf

Goodreads and cover image source here!

3. And I Darken by Kiersten White

I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this book thanks to Andy (BritBookBoy) who sent me his because I was dying to read it. This book follows Lada Dragwlya, and her brother Radu, in Transylvania and the Ottoman Empire in the 1400’s. I loved reading about a part of history that I had never read about before. The book was even better than I expected and I can’t wait for the sequel Now I Rise in 2017!aid

Goodreads and cover image source here!

4. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

I loved this book and fell in love with Roshani Chokshi’s lyrical and vibrant writing style. It follows Maya, a girl born with a horoscope promising a marriage of death and destruction. The plot twists in this book caught be completely by surprise, and I loved that it was based on Hinduism and Indian folklore. I’ve said this about every book so far… but I am so excited for the sequel A Crown of Wishes in 2017!tstq

Goodreads and cover image source here!

5. The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

I picked up this book as it’s one of the few books set in Scotland that isn’t a highland romance, and I am so glad I did! It follows Carrie, an author who moves to the highlands of Scotland to write her next novel. What she doesn’t realise is that she has ancestral memory and is writing about someone from the past. I loved that we got both a modern-day and historical POV, it made me so happy to see Scotland portrayed well!!tws

Goodreads and cover image source here!

6. Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

If you know me at all, then you won’t be surprised to see Sarah J Maas on this list twice. I have loved every book in her Throne of Glass series (although I am definitely biased because she is my favourite author), but I think Empire of Storms might be one of my favourites in the series. The final book is out in 2017, and whilst I want the series to be finished, I also don’t want it to end?!eoss

Goodreads and cover image source here!

7. The Falconer by Elizabeth May

I am SO glad I picked up this book. You might have noticed that I am on a quest to read books set in Scotland, and it made me so happy to find a YA book with a Scottish FEMALE main character. Usually books follow an American or English woman who goes to Scotland and meets a Scottish guy. So I was over the moon to read a YA with a Scottish female, it was like truly reading about myself in a book for the first time!! It’s set in a steampunk Edinburgh in the 1800’s and follows Aileana, a fae killer.the-falconer

Goodreads and cover image source here!

8. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

On my quest to find books set in Scotland (are you tired of me saying that yet?) I came across Juliet Marillier. Whilst this book series isn’t set in Scotland, it is set in 10th century Ireland and is filled with Celtic folklore – so it’s close enough. This was quite a long, dense book, and I loved every single page. Marillier’s writing is amazing! I adore the way she weaves folklore into historical fiction! I also read her book Wildwood Dancing and loved it. I bought a few more of her books so I’ll be reading those in 2017! (Trigger wanring for rape in DotF)dotf

Goodreads and cover image source here!

9. Skin by Ilka Tampke

ON MY QUEST TO FIND… I’ll stop… I came across Skin, a book set in Britain in the year 43 AD. It tells the story of Celtic Tribes which lived all across the UK prior to the Roman invasion. It follows a girl called Ailia, and her life growing up without ‘skin’ which is like a totem you inherit depending on your family, e.g. salmon or dog. This was such a unique read and the writing was so detailed. It was unexpectedly realistic and brutal, and I highly recommend. (Especially to any Marillier fans reading this!)skin

Goodreads and cover image source here!

10. Those Below by Daniel Polansky

I was lucky enough to be sent a finished copy of this book after I emailed the publisher to say how much I loved the first book, Those Above. This was the first and only time I’ve ever emailed a publisher like that so it was very exciting! This is such a unique fantasy, set in a world where near immortal beings have taken over the humans and enslaved them. It is told from the POV of people at different levels of The Roost from the poorest at the bottom, to those superhuman beings at the top. I LOVED this duology!tb

Goodreads and cover image source here!


I hope you enjoyed this post, and I’d love to hear what your favourite books of 2016 were!

In 2017 I hope to reach my goal of reading 50 books, as well as making an effort to reduce the number of books on TBR list! I also want to finish off the series I have started, and of course continue on my QUEST to find more books set in Scotland (hopefully some by Scottish authors!)

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

11 thoughts on “My 10 Favourite Books of 2016

  1. I recently bought The Winter Sea and I’m super excited to read it!!! My favorite books of 2016… I actually recently did a blog post about this but I’d have to say either My Lady Jane or The Queen of Attolia. Have you read either of these?

    1. It’s really good! I am Scottish, so I’ve noticed how hard it is to find any books about my country that aren’t written by Americans or highland romances! Do you have any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

