Frostblood by Elly Blake – Review

Today I have a review of Frostblood by Elly Blake for you. I got an ARC of Frostblood in the July Fairy Loot box. It is out on the 12th of January 2017, so I wanted to read and review it before it released. I really loved this book!fbloodFrostblood by Elly Blake, Frosblood Saga #1

  • UK Advance Readers Copy – 371 pages.
  • Release date: 12th January 2017
  • Published by Hodder & Stoughton 
  • ISBN: 1473635179
  • Goodreads page for Frostblood here! (+ source of cover image)

In this book we follow the POV of Ruby, one of the last remaining firebloods. It was interesting the way the world was split into people who had ice power, fire power and then those without powers. I thought Blake did a great job of explaining how those powers felt for Ruby. I would like to learn more about them in future books though. I also liked that we learnt about the higher powers in the world, their ideas about Gods and how the ice and fire powers came to be.

I thought the character development was good, but hope to see more in future books as well! There was some romance in this book. I wasn’t in love with the idea of it, but it was enjoyable enough to read about. Despite loving this book, I wish we would have gotten more world-building. Blake writes some brilliant descriptions so I would love to have read more of those.

I guessed a few of the main plot points, but that didn’t make it any less exciting. I really love Blake’s writing style and so I look forward to reading more of her books in the future! I think Frostblood is a good choice if you’re looking for a book you can easily and quickly lose yourself in.

This book is marketed as perfect for Sarah J Maas fans and I would agree, it was giving me Heir of Fire vibes, which I loved as that’s my favourite book! I definitely recommend if you’re a Maas fan or simply looking to start a new YA fantasy series. Now I am just sad to have to wait so long for the next book!!


Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “Frostblood by Elly Blake – Review

Leave a Reply

