Top 5: Authors I discovered in 2016

I saw Fireheart Books write a blog post about her Top Ten New-To-Me Authors and I really enjoyed it. I thought I would do a post, as part of my series of Top 5’s, and tell you five of the authors that I discovered in 2016 and loved! I read and loved more than five authors this year, if you want you can check out more of my reviews over on Goodreads!

1. Leigh Bardugo

I read the Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows at the beginning of 2016 and absolutely fell in love with Leigh Bardugo’s writing and the world she has created. I loved that her Grisha trilogy is inspired by Russia, as I had never read a fantasy like that before. Her Six of Crows duology has amazing diverse representation! I still need to read the final book, Crooked Kingdom, so hopefully I will soon.

Goodreads page and source of the cover image here!

sab

2. Roshani Chokshi 

I had seen a few people talking about The Star-Touched Queen over on Twitter and was really excited at the idea of reading a fantasy inspired by Hindu and Indian mythology! I ended up absolutely adoring the book and I fell in love with Chokshi’s writing style, it’s so lyrical and descriptive. I can’t wait for her second book, A Crown of Wishes, coming in 2017!

Goodreads page and source of the cover image here!

tstq3. Juliet Marillier

On my search to find more books inspired by Celtic folklore, I came across Juliet Marillier. However it wasn’t until I found  a copy of Daughter of the Forest with the gorgeous cover below that I picked up her book. I read this book, and a book from another series Wildwood Dancing, and loved them both. The first is based on Irish folklore and the second on Romanian, I love the way she weaves magic into historical fiction.

Goodreads page and source of the cover image here!

dotf4. Susanna Kearsley

On my quest to find books set in Scotland I picked up The Winter Sea, and I am so glad I did. It was clear from the beginning that Kearsley really did her research and spent a lot of time looking into Scotland, the Scottish people and their accents, and our history. I adored this book, and loved the way it switched between a modern-day POV and a historical POV. I collected a few more of her books (because I didn’t want to miss the gorgeous US covers) so I look forward to reading more in 2017!

Goodreads page and source of the cover image here!

tws5. Robin Hobb

It’s impossible to look for fantasy books and not be recommended Robin Hobb books. For some unknown reason, I didn’t read any of her books until this year. I LOVED Assassin’s Apprentice, her writing is similar to George R. R. Martin’s, in that it’s epic, wonderfully descriptive and exciting. I really need to continue reading this trilogy, I also have another one of her trilogies because I enjoyed this book so much I couldn’t resist buying more!

Goodreads page and source of the cover image here!

aa


Thanks for reading today’s post, I would love to know which authors you discovered in 2016!

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

25 thoughts on “Top 5: Authors I discovered in 2016

  1. Susanna Kearsley’s books are so wonderful!! I do think The Winter Sea is her best, but the “sequel” The Firebird is also really really good. I’ve not read any Juliet Marillier, but how much you adore her writing has me really curious. 🙂

    1. Ooh I really want to read The Firebird, I bought that one so have the gorgeous cover! Juliet Marillier is so brilliant, especially since it’s like history in which all the myths are true!

  2. Great post! 🙂 I am so glad you enjoyed Daughter of Forest – I have it on my shelf and this makes me want to read it right away! 🙂

  3. I have to check the 3rd and 4th authors, most of my 2016 reads have been from new authors including Leigh! I really like the idea of this post, maybe I should try it too!! 😊😊

  4. I also discovered Leigh Bardugo this year! I wasn’t completely blown away by The Grisha Trilogy, but I did like that when it came to reading Six of Crows, I felt like I understood the whole universe and Grisha powers and things. But then I LOVED Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, and I cannot wait to see what else she brings out.

    Zoe @ Readabilitea

  5. Pretty much all of these books – apart from Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy & SoC (though crooked kingdom still is) – are on my TBR! So glad to see you loved them all!
    As for my newly discovered favourite authors…hmm….I’d say Holly Bourne, and Laini Taylor (even though I’ve only read one of her books so far)!

  6. I discovered Leigh Bardugo this year as well, and I’m so glad I did! Six of Crows is one of my favourite series I’ve read. I also finally read a few of Rainbow Rowell’s books which were equally amazing! I haven’t read any others on your list, but they all sound really interesting takes on fantasy novels (:

Leave a Reply

