Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR

Here is my TBR for the Dumebledore’s Army Readathon which was created by Read at Midnight. You can check out her original post about it here, but I will try to explain a little anyway. I am so excited to be taking part, in 2016 I really became aware of how much my reading lacked diversity, so I am excited to be taking my first step towards changing that and broadening my mind!

It is a Harry Potter themed readathon focusing on reading diversity and own voices books. I have added a quote from Read at Midnight’s post which explains diversity well below. Own voices books are books written by authors who are marginalised in the same way as their characters.

Any book that features a diverse experience such as LGBTQIA, ethnic, cultural, religious, gender diversity, indigenous, neurodiversity, people with disabilities – Read at Midnight

dar1. Expecto Patronum: Read a diverse book featuring an issue of personal significance to you or a loved one.

For this prompt I chose The Steel Remains by Richard Morgan. I wasn’t sure what to pick for this book as I was trying to pick from my TBR and not buy new books, so I ended up choosing this book as it’s a fantasy with a gay main character. TSRYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

2. Expelliarmus: Disarm your own prejudices. Read a diverse book featuring a marginalised group you don’t often read about.

I realised that I have never read a book set in / inspired by Africa and so I chose Who Fears Death  by Nnedi Okorafor. It is set in a post nuclear holocaust Africa and follows Onyesonwu as she discovers her magical destiny. (The blurb mentions rape so, although I haven’t read it yet, I’m giving a trigger warning for anyone considering it). wfdYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

3. Protego: Protect those narratives & keep them true. Read an #OwnVoices book for this prompt.

The own voices book I chose for this prompt is Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. This book was actually sent to me by Penguin, and I thought it fit the prompt perfectly. It was written by an author from Ghana, and follows two sisters from Ghana and their experiences during the slave trade. I think this book will be both eye-opening and heartbreaking.hYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

4. Reducto: Smash that glass ceiling. Read a book that empowers women from all different walks of life.

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh is my pick for this prompt. It follows Shahrzad as she volunteers to be the king’s new wife she she can find out what happens to his wives and get vengeance. It definitely sounds like an empowering book, and I’m excited to read a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights.twatdYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

5. Impedimenta: Read a diverse book that’s been left unread on your TBR for far too long!

For this prompt I chose A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnson which is another retelling of One Thousand and One Nights which I’ve been wanting to read for a while. It’s a culturally diverse fantasy, in that it isn’t a retelling of western European fairy-tales, so I am excited about it.atnYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

6. Stupefy: Read a diverse book that has stunned the internet with all its well-deserved hype.

I’ve been seeing hype about An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir so I chose it for this prompt. I am so excited to read this one, I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. It follows an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom.aeita
You can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!

7. Lumos: Read a diverse book that was recommended by one of your fellow book bloggers.

Finally, I was recommended Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. This book was recommended to me by Naz from Enchanted Bookcase and I can’t wait to pick it up! This is another book that’s been on my TBR for a long time.rotsYou can check out its Goodreads and the source of the cover image here!


If you made it to the end, thank you for reading! I’d love to know if you’ve read any of these books or if you are taking part in #DAReadathon I’m curious to know which books you chose.

Don’t forget to check out the original post here, the readathon will run from the 1st of January to the 15th (although I can be a slow reader so I know I’ll take longer than that).

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblr & Pinterest!

I’ll be posting a review of every book over on my Goodreads!

7 thoughts on “Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR

  1. I have read The Wrath and the Dawn and An Ember in the Ashes, both books are really really good, they’re one of the best ones I read this year! I hope you like them too!

Leave a Reply

