Top 5: Male Main Characters

As I posted my Top 5: Female Main Characters a week or so ago, I thought that this week I would share my current top five male main characters. Like I said in the last post, this list changes often and I have way more than five favourites! I hope you enjoy, let me know some of your favourites!

acomaf1. Rhysand (A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas)

If you have only read A Court of Thorns and Roses so far then you may be surprised that Rhysand is one of my favourite male characters, but if you have read the second book then I am sure you understand. Rhysand is such a complex and interesting character, I loved his plot and character development so much, butI wont spoil anything!

This is a link to the Goodreads for ACOMAF, and a link to the cover image used.

acomaf

2. Sirius Black (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling)

I love Sirius Black. He has always been one of my favourite characters from the Harry Potter series. He is loyal and kind, but also stubborn and reckless. His plot is absolutely heartbreaking, but he is such a good Godfather to Harry. If you read my Top 5: Female Main Characters post, then you’ll know I think the Black family is one of the most interesting in the Potter world.

You can find the Goodreads for Prisoner of Azkaban and the cover image here!

poa

3. Credence Barebone (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling)

This is a really new favourite character for me. As I watched the film and then read the Fantastic Beasts screenplay I found myself longing to read more about the character Credence. His story is so sad and heartbreaking, and I’ve found myself having to read lots of fanfiction as we really didn’t see enough of him!

You can find the Goodreads for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay and the source of the cover image here!

fb

4. Brand (Half The World by Joe Abercrombie)

In the second book of The Shattered Sea Trilogy, Half A World, we are introduced to a character called Brand and I instantly loved his POV. He is such an amazing character (writing this blog post is making me want to go back and reread his chapters)! I won’t say much because it’s the second book, but really is one of the main reasons I loved this trilogy.

Here is a link to the Goodreads for Half the World and the image source.

halftw

5. Jorg Ancrath (Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence)

I picked up Prince of Thorns randomly in 2014 when I was looking for a fantasy that was a little darker, and I absolutely loved it. The main characters Jorg is so interesting and complex. He does a lot of terrible things throughout the series, but he is written so well that you still end up rooting for him. I definitely recommend this book, especially if you want to read from the POV of a slightly darker character. (TRIGGER WARNING for rape)

You can find the Goodreads for Prince of Thorns and the cover image source here!

pot


Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

21 thoughts on “Top 5: Male Main Characters

  1. I love Rhysand! He makes my heart soar, plus Sirius is one of my most complicated loves, sometimes he really annoys me and others he makes me want to hold him tight and never let him go. Harry Potter characters seem to do that to me.

        1. Yeah that’s very true! I always think it’s easier to read things rather than see them in a film or whatever, but I know for some people it’s too much so thought I’d warn!

  2. Rhysand! Yes! I also love Sirius, I also liked Credence, but he wasn’t my favorite. I don’t really know about him because i’ve only seen the movie once and didn’t read the screenplay. It’s kind of hard to judge at first when he’s kind of seen as a villain? I really want to see it again though to get a better view of him. 🙂

    1. I think it’s impossible not to love Rhysand! Hmm I don’t know why, I just felt so sorry for Credence and I think they showed how unstable he was well. Poor wee soul!

    1. If you go on the website ‘Archive of Our Own’ and search for Credence Barebone a few hundred will come up! I can’t remember the name of any specific ones, but I’ve read a bunch of those!

  3. Credence really was fascinating, for a character who says relatively little, wasn’t he? I love seeing what Rowling is creating next for us with this new batch of characters in her wizarding world! Maybe you’ll get to see more of the Black family in future films too 🙂

Leave a Reply

