The Making of Outlander by Tara Bennett – Review

Today I have a review of The Making of Outlander by Tara Bennett for you! I was sent a copy of The Making of Outlander by Random House, but my review remains honest and all my own opinions. The gorgeous bookmark in the picture below I bought from Behind the Pages, you can find their bookmarks here!the-making-of-outlanderThe Making of Outlander: The Official Guide to Seasons One & Two by Tara Bennett

  • US hardcover – 234 pages.
  • Release date: 18th October 2016.
  • Published by Delacorte Press
  • ISBN: 1101884169
  • Goodreads page for The Making of Outlander here!

I was actually a little surprised by how much I ended up enjoying this book! I am a huge Outlander fan and I enjoy writing, so I loved that for each episode we got to hear from the writers and producers. We also hear from the actors throughout and have chapters dedicated to things like costumes, props and casting. The book is filled with quotes and gorgeous images from behind the scenes, and I really think it’s worth it (although I know it’s expensive)!

This book is great not only because it gives us more information about Outlander, but I also feel like I now know a lot more about how TV series are created. I hadn’t expected to learn so much about how TV programmes are written and produced. I must admit that every time they mentioned Scotland or a place I know, like Glasgow, a part of me screeched with joy. One of my favourite quotes from the book was when the producer Ron Moore said ‘Outlander is a love letter to Scotland’, it really does feel that way!

I had expected that I would fly through this book, but it actually took me a few days which was good. There was a lot to read and lots of great insights, rather than it being heavily filled with large images like I had assumed (sorry!!)

This review is a little short, but as it’s not a novel I can’t say much! I would highly recommend this book to all Outlander fans, especially if you’re interested in the writing side of the TV programme! I’m now desperate to rewatch the series to see what I can pick up that I missed the first time I watched.


Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on  InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

7 thoughts on “The Making of Outlander by Tara Bennett – Review

  1. In my wishlist!! I so wish is was cheaper but being a huge fan of the show I definitely need this!! I like that they apparently not give you a peek into that “inside the tv” world, but much more!! Cannot wait to get it!

  2. Thank you for this awesome review, I wouldn’t have known about this book without it! Definitely adding this book to my list of “books to buy” because Outlander is amazing.

Leave a Reply

