Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – Book & Screenplay Review

Today I have two spoiler-free reviews for you! Firstly a review of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and secondly a review of The Original Screenplay! I went to see the film last week and was surprised by how much I ended up loving it. As soon as I got home I read the screenplay and then the book by Newt Scamander. It was amazing to reread the book for the first time in years and now know the author!fbFantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander (J.K. Rowling)

I appreciated this book a lot more after seeing the film and reading the screenplay. I loved reading the foreword by Dumbledore and the introduction by Newt. The comments and scribbles from Ron, Harry and Hermione throughout this book were so cute. It was amazing to learn about the magical creates, many of which I can now picture thanks to the films. I especially loved whenever Scotland was mentioned, I love the way J.K. Rowling twisted Scottish folklore to fit into the wizarding world. I’m very glad I reread this book, it really cheered me up!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

I decided to wait until after I saw the film to read this screenplay and I’m glad I did it that way. It was exciting to watch the film and not know what was going to happen. I ended up loving the film, so it was great to be able to come home and read the screenplay and relive it all. After only giving The Cursed Child 3 stars I was a little sceptical about Fantastic Beasts, and a little unsure if I would like the wizarding world in America. Thankfully I ended up loving the world, mainly because the main character Newt Scamander is so charming and brilliant. Every time he mentioned that he was writing a book about magical creatures I felt so happy.

This was my first time reading a screenplay, and whilst I missed the world-building and character development that a full novel brings, I enjoyed it. I’m sure I will reread my favourite parts of this book over and over again. I loved all of the little references to the Harry Potter books!

Unexpectedly I loved the character Credence Barebone. His plot was so heartbreaking but also very cleverly constructed. I’ve already been reading lots of fanfiction about him because one little screenplay is not enough! So I highly recommend this book, even if you didn’t love The Cursed Child. Fantastic Beasts is definitely the better of the two new stories.


I hope you enjoyed this post! I am so glad that I loved Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them! (Although I am not 100% happy with the casting for the films!)

Have you seen the film or read the screenplay yet? Let me know what you thought!

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

8 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – Book & Screenplay Review

  1. Oh I’m glad you loved the movie! I loved it so much, I want to go and see it again! I think I might need to get the screenplay now… I LOVED Eddie Redmayne, I thought he was really, really good. I wasn’t a massive fan of Porpentina Goldstein, though I loved her sister. And Credence! Such an unexpected favourite!!

  2. Hahah, I really HATE the casting for that one actor, pretty sure we’re talking about the same one.
    But super excited about reading this screenplay, I hope to get it soon!
    Are there illustrations in there?

Leave a Reply

