Top 5: Female Main Characters

You all seemed to enjoy my Top 5: Fantasy Worlds post so I thought I would do some more! This time I am talking about some of my favourite female characters in books. Of course I have a lot more than five, so this list is just my current favourites. I hope you enjoy!

qos

1. Elide Lochan (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas)

This character we are introduced to in the fourth Throne of Glass book, Queen of Shadows. I instantly loved Elide. She is different from the other main female characters we see in the series in that she isn’t an amazing fighter like Celaena and Manon. She has a heartbreaking back story (which I won’t spoil) and a mangled ankle which makes even walking difficult for her. I loved her POV in both Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms, as she is quietly strong, kind and resourceful.

You can find the Goodreads for Queen of Shadows and the source of the cover image here! eos

2. Aileana Kameron (The Falconer by Elizabeth May)

It wasn’t until I started reading The Falconer that I realised I had never read a YA book fromthe POV of a Scottish female character. I am so used to books having Americans come to Scotland, so I instantly felt a connection with Aileana. It was so amazing to read a book where the character used similar slang to me and is from a city I know! I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy and follow her adventures.

Here is a link to the source of the cover image and The Falconer’s Goodreads!the-falconer

3. Bellatrix Lestrange (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling)

Next we have the worst character on the list, Bellatrix Lestrange. I think that Bellatrix was the first book character I ever read about that was truly evil and sadistic. She is cruel and awful, but also clever and loyal to a fault. I loved reading about her because she is so unpredictable and evil, she also has a very interesting past with her two sisters Narcissa and Andromeda. I’m still hoping J.K. Rowling will one day write a book about the three of them.

You can find the Goodreads for Order of the Phoenix and the cover image source here!ootp

4. Daenerys Targaryen (A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin)

My favourite character from the Game of Thrones world has to be Daenerys, I love a lot of the characters but I consistently root for Dany and I think she has one of the most interesting plot lines. Although she makes some bad decisions, we really see her grow throughout the series and I just hope she has a happy ending one day! Also, she is literally the Mother of Dragons, how could I not pick her?!

You can find the Goodreads for A Game of Thrones and the cover image source here!got

5. Sorcha (Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier)

Daughter of the Forest is written as if the main character Sorcha is telling us the story of her life. She is a brilliant story-teller and I ended up loving her as a character straight away. The book follows her through years of her life, through good times and bad times, and it was amazing to watch her grow.

Here is the link to the Goodreads for Daughter of the Forest and the image source.dotf


I hope you enjoyed. You can check out my spoiler-free reviews for Daughter of the Forest and The Falconer if you’re curious about them!

Who are your favourite female characters?

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

11 thoughts on “Top 5: Female Main Characters

  1. The characters I knew like Elide and Bellatrix are some of my favorite female characters and some of the others I hadn’t heard of so I will definitely have to check them out as they sound awesome!

  2. Really liked Elide as soon as she appeared in Queen of Shadows. What is funny because I really hated Celaena at the beginning and Manon I tried not to like. With Lysandra I was in doubt, because I first read about her in The Assassin’s Blade and, well, in that book I think I only liked Sam… 🤔
    I have to reread Daughter of the Forest.
    I read it when it was released, I don’t know, almost 15 years ago? I don’t even remember… But I remember that I really liked the story and Sorcha. 😊
    The Falconer is on my TBR.
    I like Daenerys too, but I can’t say she is one of my favorites.
    And Bellatrix is a great character! She’s so crazy!!! Rsrs… But, well, she killed so many people… Sirius included… Don’t know… 😏

    1. Yeah Elide has always been great. I like Celaena but at times she is so stubborn. Lysandra I didn’t like just because we saw her through Celaena’s POV – so I am glad she had a lot of growth. Yeah I only recently discovered Juliet Marillier! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

