Top 5: Fantasy Worlds

I’ve decided to start a series on my blog about my Top 5 books etc, this first post will be all about my current top 5 fantasy worlds! (I have more than 5 favourite worlds, but I tried to pick my favourites for this post.) This list will probably change in the future as I read new books and discover new worlds, but I hope you enjoy reading!

worldsThe print is from HerBookishThings on Etsy and the mug from BookwormBoutique on Society6!

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

If you know me then you probably aren’t surprised to see a Sarah J Maas series on this list. I absolutely adore the world of Prythian from her A Court of Thorns and Roses series. It is a world inhabited by humans, faeries and a number of different creatures from mythology all over the world. The Fae kingdoms are split into different seasons such as the Spring Court, and then times like the Night Court. The world-building is brilliant and with each book we get a more detailed map! One part of the world was even inspired by Scotland which made me so happy!

You can check out the Goodreads for A Court of Thorns and Roses & the source for the image below here!

acotar

2. The Shattered Sea by Joe Abercrombie 

The world in the Shattered Sea trilogy is inspired by Vikings and Scandinavia! I’d always wanted to read a book based on those things and so I instantly loved this series. The world starts off in a small area around the Shattered Sea however with each book the map grows and we see the rest of the world. It’s a great example of world-building done well so I highly recommend it!

Here is the Goodreads page for Half a King and the source of the cover image used!

hak

3. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

I think that the world in A Song of Ice and Fire is the best fantasy world ever written. It is a vast world with multiple different cultures and languages. There are many different kingdoms and the world-building throughout the series is amazing. Out of every fantasy book I’ve ever read, I think that this one is the most detailed. It’s brilliant!

You can find the Goodreads page and source for the cover image used here!

got

4. The Empty Throne by Daniel Polansky

Next we have Those Above, this world is one of the most unique that I have ever read about. There are two main areas The Roost and The Commonwealth. The Roost is a tiered city in which the poorest live at the bottom and near immortal superhuman beings live at the very top. We see POV’s from each area in the world and also from different layers of The Roost. I really think this series is underrated so if you’re looking for a unique world I highly recommend!

Here is the link to the Goodreads & source of the cover image used!

ta

5. The Grisha Trilogy / Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Last, but not least, we have the word in the Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows duology. Ravka is a part of the world inspired by Russia which we spend a lot of Shadow and Bone in. I absolutely loved this world as it was so different from the usual west-European inspired fantasy worlds I have read about. We travel a lot throughout Bardugo’s books and so you really get to know the whole world well!

You can find the Goodreads and cover image source here!

sab


I hope you enjoyed my first Top 5 blog post, I would love to hear any suggestions you might have about othet Top 5’s you would like me to talk about!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

16 thoughts on “Top 5: Fantasy Worlds

  1. I absolutely love the world in the Shattered Sea series… I’ve only read the first book, (and loved it) but the world was one of my favorite things! I’ve never really read anything else like that. Awesome post! 🙂

  2. Prythian is one of my favourites!! I think SJM did an incredible job with the world building in ACOTAR. I still need to read The Shattered Sea trilogy especially now that I’m a huge Vikings fan! I’d add Middle Earth to this list cause Hobbiton 😍 and Harry Potter of course!

  3. YAS Completely agree with A Court of Thrones of Roses. I’m super excited to get my hands on book 3! I’m dying to know what happens. I loved the story and the characters and the world. I also read enjoyed Shadow and Bone. I really need to finish that trilogy considering I have all three books haha.

    Happy Reading!

    Amber @ Escape Life in the Pages

  4. I’ve not read either The Empty Throne of The Shattered Sea series’ , though I’ve been eyeing up Half A King for a while. I can’t make my mind up whether I want to read it or not, you know?

    Sarah J Maas, George RR Martin and Leigh Bardugo have all nailed it with their worlds, they’re so wonderful ❤

  5. Haaa I loved the first two books in the Shaterred Sea! I have the third but I’m still super scared about how it’ll end ^^’
    I really HAVE to read Those Above, it sounds so cool!!
    My favourite would be…… The cosmere universe from Brandon Sanderson’s novels and the world of the Name of the wind!

Leave a Reply

