Mist & Whispers: The Weavers Riddle by C. M. Lucas – Review!

Today I have a spoiler-free review of Mist & Whispers: The Weaver’s Riddle by C. M. Lucas for you! I was sent a copy of Mist & Whispers by the author, however the review is all my honest opinions. I really loved this book and  I think it’s the perfect book to snuggle up with this Autumn / Winter.snapseed-8

Mist & Whispers: The Weaver’s Riddle by C. M. Lucas

  • Paperback – 520 pages.
  • Release date: 3rd April 2016.
  • Published by OfTomes
  • ISBN: 1530487811
  • Goodreads page for Mist & Whispers here!

Mist & Whispers begins in a sleepy fictional English town, then ends up turning into a fantasy adventure. I was a little unsure if I would like that or not, but I LOVED IT! It was so interesting to see characters from our modern world thrown into fantasy situations. Mist & Whispers is unlike any other fantasy I have ever read and I am so glad I tried something new.

The main character Anya is quite amusing at times, but also frustratingly stubborn. This made her very realistic and so I really enjoyed reading about her. Three of her friends go along with her on the adventure and they were all well-developed as well. One of them was originally shown as quite a stereotypical and vain girly girl, which I didn’t like, however as we got to know her better her character was really fleshed out so that was great. One of the characters was also a geography student (like me) so I decided that they were my favourite instantly.

I think it’s best to go into this book not knowing anything about it, so I won’t say much about the plot other than it was full of twists and turns. This book involves a lot of riddles, which were cleverly weaved into the story by the author. I was constantly being surprised. I absolutely loved the fantasy world that Lucas has created, such an interesting mix of magic and mystery. I enjoyed all the different magic creaures and I can tell that we have only just scratched the surface with this series! The ending of this book was very satisfying, but at the same time left me desperate to know what is going to happen in the next book, I CAN’T WAIT!

The only issues I had with this book was that the page numbers got muddled up near the end, which I suppose is more of a printing mix up rather than a problem with the actual book. I would definitely recommend this book to fantasy lovers and also to those who don’t read much fantasy as it gently eases you into things.


Thank you for reading this review, I hope it encouraged some of you to pick up with book and help support the author with her debut novel! It’s also great to support smaller publishers.

You can find Mist and Whispers: The Weaver’s Riddle here: UK Amazon / US Amazon!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

Mug in picture from BookwormBoutique: here!

11 thoughts on “Mist & Whispers: The Weavers Riddle by C. M. Lucas – Review!

  1. I really like that cover, I’ll be sure to check this book out if I see it in stores or at the library (pretty sure it won’t be available before a very long time though..)
    Plus debut novel + small publisher, they do need our money!:)

    1. I know it’s so gorgeous! I’m not sure if the books are in stores or libraries yet, maybe an ebook will be best for you as they often have them cheap! Thanks for reading

      1. Ohhh yeah I don’t understand why I didn’t think of that, I was maybe a little bit sleepy ^^’
        And if I like it I’ll definitely buy a physical copy since it’s so gorgeous!

          1. True, especially books that I keep seeing pictures on twitter or Instagram and it just feel like “if I see so many pics of that one it might be out already!” and it isn’t actually 😂 *the disappointment!*

Leave a Reply

