Meeting Sarah J Maas

On the 11th of October 2016 I got to meet my inspiration and favourite author in the whole world, Sarah J Maas. If you’ve followed my blog and Instagram for a while, or read any of my posts about writing, then you will know that I adore Sarah and am constantly inspired and motivated by her.
snapseed-9

I was that annoying person who kept sending Bloomsbury tweets not so subtly suggesting that Sarah visit Scotland, her first UK England tour sadly didn’t have a date up here. When the news was announced tha she was coming to Glasgow I freaked out (and maybe teared up a little). Then using some dodgy WiFi in a hotel in Berlin I managed to get tickets for myself, my sister and FictionTea (that makes my life sound so exciting…)

I can barely put into words just how much Sarah J Maas means to me, but I tried my best. I hope you enjoy!

The signing started off with an hour-long Q&A with the booktuber The Book Belle hosting, who was brilliant. I have watched every Sarah J Maas interview I can find on YouTube and have read through the majority of her old blog posts, so it was great to hear new stories from her! One weird thing Inoticed was she sounded really different in real life compared to in videos!

I was basically in awe the whole time listening to her speak, but I will try to summarise some of the main points. She explained a lot about how she feels nearing the end of the Throne of Glass series, she started writing those books at 16 and is now 30 (or a 3,000 year old vampire apparently) so that was interesting. Sarah also told us a little more about the future books set in the ACOTAR world and about how excited she was to be writing a Catwoman book. I am now so excited for the Catwoman book to be released in 2018.

The main thing that I remember is SARAH KNOWS WHAT THE LAST LINE OF THE FINAL THRONE OF GLASS BOOK WILL BE! I can’t decide if that is exciting or terrifying!

signingomg
LOOK it’s me and my Queen (thank you to my sister for taking this for me)

After the Q&A was over, we headed out of the hall into the biggest queue ever. It looped right around the room! We were near the middle/end of the queue  and so began right in front of the desk where she was signing. I took the opportunity to snap a few pictures and internally freak out because I was so close to the author who means the most to me in the world. We were in the queue for an hour, but it seemed to pass by quite quickly and I got the chance to meet some people whom I knew from bookstagram and the online book community!

When it was my turn to reach the front of the queue and meet Sarah it went a little like this:

Me (babbling frantically): “Hi, if it wasn’t for you I would never have been able to write my book. So thank you!!

Sarah: “Aw, thank you for being amazing!”

I honestly can’t remember anything else, maybe I called her amazing? I’m really not sure. She was kind enough to sign my copy of Heir of Fire, which is my favourite book in the world. Whilst her husband Josh (Papa Maas) stamped my Barnes and Noble hardcover with the special Empire of Storms 2016 tour stamp!

I really wish I had the time to stop and explain just how much her books mean to me and just how inspiring she is, but the queue was still huge behind me and so we were a little rushed. I was shaking and so close to crying so I doubt  would have even been able to tell her how much she means to me without bawling even if I had the time!

Now that some time has passed I feel like I can barely remember meeting Sarah, like I wasn’t even present in my own body I was just so amazed. Thankfully the moment I got home (after bursting into tears and crying to my Mum about how amazing it was), I wrote my thoughts down here.


So, although the meeting was rushed I had a brilliant evening meeting Sarah J Maas. Definitely one of the highlights of my life! With Throne of Glass being adapted into a TV programme and ACOTAR possibly becoming films I am sure Sarah will soon be even harder to meet, so I am so glad I got the chance before her life got too crazy!

If you liked this post, why not read Meeting V.E. Schwab from my first ever author signing during the summer – that signing was very different from this one!

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblrGoodreads & Pinterest!

22 thoughts on “Meeting Sarah J Maas

  1. Great post!! I experienced something very similar this year meeting Cassandra Clare 😻😻😻and thanks for sharing your experience! I missed the chance to go to the London event due to work 😩😩😩

  2. I feel so happy for you that you got to meet her!! I am going to be the annoying person who keeps tweeting her to come to Australia. We sometimes get forgotten about down here because it takes a lifetime to get here, so I need to keep up the reminders lol. I will get Heir of Fire signed too because it’s my fav as well 🙂 Awesome post 🙂

  3. i have met her twice this year and i love her so much! youre totally right though, i assume she is only going to be harder to meet, so im going to keep stalking her tour dates until they become invitation only lol!

    1. Oh wow twice, that’s so fun! I wish I had met her back around Heir of Fire kind of time. If the TV series ends up 6 series long I can see us having to pay more and more to go!

Leave a Reply

