Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur – Review

Hello, here is my spoiler free review of Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. Milk and Honey is a poetry book which I have been seeing all over the online book community recently. This was my first time reading poetry since high school so it was interesting!

Processed with Snapseed.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

  • Paperback – 208 pages.
  • Release date: 6th of October 2015.
  • Published by Andrews McMeel
  • ISBN: 144947425X
  • Goodreads page for Milk and Honey here!

Milk and Honey is the first poetry book I’ve ever read, and I was surprised by how much I loved it! At school we read some poetry, but it was nice to read without having to analyse it then write an essay. This book is split into four sections: The Hurting, The Loving, The Breaking and The Healing, so I made sure to spread them out over a few days.

I really enjoyed reading this book and I think I picked a great book to introduce me to poetry. As I never read poetry I can’t really comment on the actual poems themselves. I saw a review saying the poems are free verse poetry, but I don’t know if they are good examples of that technique or not. All I know what that I enjoyed it.

Once thing I noticed, was that it really feels a lot more intimate reading poetry rather than a full length novel. I felt like I was seeing inside Kaur’s mind and understanding her feelings. The first few chapters focus on loss, trauma and abuse. Luckily I have never experienced those things to a great extent (touch wood), so whilst the poems were interesting and insightful they did not really resonate with me. However, if you’ve had a difficult time I think this book would help you to process your feelings!

My favourite part of this book was the final chapter called The Healing. It was full of uplifting and motivational poems. I can’t put it into words what I gained from this book, but I really feel like I gained something. Perhaps a greater insight into the mind of someone else, someone who has suffered.


I hope you enjoyed reading this review, if you’ve read Milk and Honey let me know what you thought of it! Or if you have any other poetry recommendations I would love to hear them! You can check out my other reviews on Goodreads.

Don’t forget you can follow me on: InstagramTwitterTumblr & Pinterest!

10 thoughts on “Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur – Review

  1. I’ve been seeing this book a lot alongside “the princess saves herself in this one”! I don’t know poetry much beside what I’ve read in school too, it never really resonated with me, apart from time to time, so I think I’ll try to find this book, it really sounds nice<3

  2. I’m really intrigued about this book! I never read poetry, but so many people have loved this one that I just can’t being interested. I feel like my favourite part would be the Healing section too though, I can tell that much already.
    Lovely review Christine! 🙂

  3. I loved Milk and Honey, I have been interested in poetry for quite a long time but kind of got off track with it for a few years. Now I am loving reading it and being back into writing it. Just a few hours ago I was flicking through my copy of Milk and Honey and I agree with you, there is deep emotion and connection to be felt through reading this. Glad you enjoyed it and great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

