Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat – Series Review

This week I finished reading Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat, the third book in the Captive Prince trilogy. I thought this would be the perfect chance for me to do a spoiler free series review here on blog! I hope you enjoy.

Processed with Snapseed. Captive Prince – 3/5 stars

I enjoyed Captive Prince and loved that it was such an easy read, although it was quite short. I felt like the plot needed a little more time to develop. The main characters were interesting and I loved the two very different societies. This series is about slaves, and so there are scenes in which non-consensual acts take place. Nothing is graphic and so you could easily skim over that part and not miss much from the story. I was a little disappointed in this first book, but kept reading the series because the story really intrigued me.

You can find the Goodreads for Captive Prince here!

Prince’s Gambit – 4/5 stars

After being a little unsure about the first book, I ended up loving Prince’s Gambit! I loved that politics and military strategy were a big part of this book. It’s obvious that Pacat did a lot of research before writing. Some characters travel a lot in this book and so I felt like the world building was more thorough. I could really picture the landscapes described and the different kingdoms we got to visit.

The plot was much quicker in this book, I kept feeling nervous for the characters as it was so tense at times. I love the character development in this series, especially of Damen and Laurent. The romance in this series is very slow burn and I really appreciate that it’s taken a lot of time for any romance to develop. This whole series contains violence and sexual scenes, however I think the author handles disturbing scenes well because she is so good at writing emotions.

You can find the Goodreads for Prince’s Gambit here!

Kings Rising – 4/5 stars

The Captive Prince trilogy got better with every book and so I found myself really loving Kings Rising. I have absolutely loved reading about Damen and Laurent throughout these books and I highly recommend it!

The books are very character focused, and it was great to see characters growing. Damen and Laurent have grown so much throughout this series, it’s crazy to think back to what they were like in book one! Pacat is such a talented writer. She writes action scenes well, planned out an intricate twisted plots that spanned 3 books, as well as writing romance and mature content very well. It was so great to read a book with multiple gay characters as well as a whole nation of people who are POC, really just a brilliant example of fantasy done well! I loved the two main societies in this world, they were both so different and it was interesting to learn more about them both.

I can’t say too much as this is the third book in the series, but the world building was great despite it being a character driven story. The ending really shocked me and has left me desperate for more books set in this world!

You can check out the Goodreads for Kings Rising here!


I hope you enjoyed my spoiler free review of the Captive Prince trilogy by C. S. Pacat. If you want to read all of my book reviews from the beginning of January 2015 onwards then check out my Goodreads here!

If you’ve read this series let me know what you thought or, if you havent, did my review make you consider picking them up? Feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat – Series Review

  1. Great to hear your review of this series. I have been tempted by this (Australlian author + diversity) but I was a bit worried when I heard that there is a slave dynamic as I find non-consensual acts really confronting, but your review has reassured me somewhat that it is handled well, so I might give the series a try when the mood strikes.

    1. Yeah I was a little hesitant at the start as well, but there is only one non-con act with a main character. The slave dynamic fades quickly after the first book so don’t worry. Books 2 and 3 are really great so worth reading on! Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

