Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas – Review

This is my second time writing this post because WordPress decided to not save the last one. I absolutely loved Empire of Storms, this book was everything I hoped it would be and more! If you haven’t yet read this book don’t worry, all of my reviews are spoiler free.

Processed with Snapseed.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas – Throne of Glass #5

  • UK paperback – 693 pages.
  • Release date: 6th September 2016
  • Published by Bloomsbury
  • ISBN: 1408872897
  • Goodreads page for Empire of Storms here!

Empire of Storms was absolutely incredible. Maas was already one of my favourite fantasy authors, but with this book has confirmed it. I loved this book from start to finish (although the end really made me cry!) I wont say much about the plot, other than SJ Maas is so clever. I could never guess what was going to happen next and anytime I did I was wrong! I was on the edge of my seat for the whole book and just couldn’t put it down.

The character development in this book was brilliant. We really learned a lot about each of the characters, and even some which I never expected would have a big impact on the series. We saw multiple POV’s, at times they changed quite suddenly, but I enjoyed each POV so much that I didn’t mind. Her character building is so great that the reader feels like they know the new characters just as well as the old.

If you’ve ever read a SJ Mass book, then you know that she loves romance and there was no shortage of romance and saucy scenes in this book. I absolutely love the way she writes romance. She always gives it time to build and grow. I have read saucy scenes in the past which really made me cringe, but although SJ Maas sex scenes are graphic, she uses metaphors etc well enough that it never feels awkward to read. It has been so great seeing Celaena mature and grow throughout the books.

The scale of the world in this series is now incredible. With each book we have learned a little more about the world and visited new landscapes, and Empire of storms was no exception. As a geography student, I really liked that this book took place in areas with different geographical features such as a forest, an archipelago of islands, marshland, a sand spit. I really appreciate seeing all of these different landscapes and I love the way Maas does world building. It is subtle but thorough!

Although I do not know what inspires SJ Maas as she writes, after doing research for my own book I have noticed a lot of Scottish / Celtic folklore in the Throne of Glass series. This includes the festivals, the Little Folk, the stones carved with runes. This may not be a big thing to most, but it made me really happy to notice those things!

I can’t say anything about the plot, but I will say that this book made me cry multiple times, from both happiness and sadness. A lot of questions from the previous books were answered and we realise just how much SJ Maas has been planning since the novellas! Heir of Fire is still my favourite book in the series, but Empire of Storms is now a firm second!

12 thoughts on “Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas – Review

  1. Yay I’m glad this was a success for you! Is it more adult fantasy now, I wonder? I don’t think I’ll ever be reading this, but it’s always great when a book series makes you laugh/cry/flail forever with appreciation.😉

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

      1. Oh, until now everyone I’d met who had loved Heir of Fire had been a hardcore Rowaelin shipper haha.

        Same here! But I STILL don’t ship her with anyone, I don’t know why.

        1. I think she went on an important emotional journey in Heir of Fire, and I did like Rowan, but I also liked her being on her own weirdly? Maybe in book 6 you will ship her? I’m curious to see if you do!

          1. I’ll let you know! 🙂 For now I like her on her own, I think she’s pretty uncontrollable and settling down with someone would be weird for her

Leave a Reply

