My Writing Playlist

I find that listening to music is one of the best ways to transport my mind into my fantasy world and get me motivated for writing. So I thought it would be fun to share some of the songs I listened to whilst writing and editing my first book!

I hope you enjoy!

Songs which transport me back to my fantasy world:

My world is based on Scotland and Scottish folklore / mythology so a lot of these songs have a very “Celtic” sound to them, lots of bagpipes, violins and drums!

  • The Gravel Road – James Newton Howard (The Village)
  • Opening – Craig Armstrong (Far From the Madding Crowd)
  • Bonnie at Morn – Mikolai Stroinski
  • The Tree When we Sat Once – Mikolai Stroinski
  • The Kiss – Trevor Jones (Last of the Mohicans)
  • The Marriage Contract – Bear McCreary (Outlander)
  • The Vikings – Ronan Hardiman

Emotional Songs

These are some of the songs which I listened to whilst writing scenes that were emotional or when bad things happened. It can be hard to get yourself feeling as sad as your characters, so I find that music really helps.

  • The Losing Side of History – Bear McCreary (Outlander)
  • People Disappear All The Time – Bear McCreary (Outlander)
  • Courtyard Apocalypse  – Alexandre Desplat (Harry potter)
  • Time – Hans Zimmer (Inception)
  • Nothing Else Matters – Apocalyptica
  • The Women of Balnain – Bear McCreary & Gilliebride Macmillan (Outlander)
  • Leaving the Docks – Zbigniew Preisner (The Secret Garden)

Good Background Songs

These are songs which I love, but are also simple enough that they fade into the background when you are writing scenes need a lot of thought. I usually listen to these on repeat.

  • Journey to Kattegat – Trevor Morris (Vikings)
  • You Shouldn’t Walk in the Shadows – James Newton Howard (The Huntsman:Winters War)
  • A Lannister Always Pays His Debts – Ramin Djawadi (Game of Thrones)
  • The Imitation Game – Alexandre Desplat
  • Mrs Fitz- Bear McCreary (Outlander)
  • Lord of the Isles – BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Dramatic Songs

I find that when writing dramatic scenes I need to focus and so can’t listen to music, but when I do it is usually these songs. Or sometimes I will listen to dramatic music to get me in the zone and help me plan before I start writing.

  • Land of Shadows – Audiomachine
  • Axios – Nathan Lanier
  • Arrival To Earth – Steve Jablonsky (Transformers)
  • Hear Me Roar – Ramin Djawadi (Game of Thrones)
  • Moving Mountains – Thomas Bergersen
  • Guardians at the Gate – Audiomachine

Random Songs

These are songs from my playlist which actually have lyrics and so there aren’t many of them. Stripped I found from a Black Sails fan video, and I especially love the Game of Thrones remix!

  • Stripped – Shiny Toy Guns
  • Scarborough Fair – Celtic Women
  • Helvegen – Wardruna
  • Run Boy Run – Woodkid
  • La Valse d’Amélie (version piano) – Yann Tiersen (Amelie from Montmartre)
  • The Son of Fire (GoT S3 remix) – Melodysheep

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and that you maybe found some new songs to add to your own playlists! I find a lot of music in Sarah J Maas’s playlists so I will leave a link to those here!

Let me know some of the songs which motivate you to write!

6 thoughts on “My Writing Playlist

  1. I completely forgot about that Harry Potter one! I think I’ve only seen the last movie once 🙈 The Journey to Kattegat is beautiful!! I love soundtracks from the Narnia and LOTR/The Hobbit movies! Also, the Cinderella movie that came out last year is perfect for writing those happy-sad moments!

  2. Oh, please keep sharing your music and writing inspirations! 🙂
    I literally can’t write anything without music, it’s always soundtrack or Symphonic Metal. The top 5 songs I’ve been listening to recently are:

    – Lyric (Danny Elfman)
    – Casper’s Lullaby (James Horner) (Did I mention that I FREAKING LOVE EVERYTHING BY JAMES HORNER?)
    – The Escape (Patrick Doyle) (He has GREAT soundtracks too)
    – Edward Leaves (Alexandre Desplat)
    – Beethoven Havoc (John Powell)

    Great post, Christine, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

