Rebellion by Josephine Boyce – Review

A few weeks ago you may have seen me post this interview with the lovely Josephine Boyce. Today I have my review of her first book Rebellion for you all. She was kind enough to send me a copy of her book, however this review is still honest and all my own opinions!

Rebellion by Josephine Boyce – Rebellion #1

  • Paperback – 288 pages.
  • Release date: August 2016
  • Self-Published
  • ISBN: 9781523226900
  • Goodreads page for Rebellion here!

snapseed

This review is spoiler free!

It has been a long time since I read a dystopian book and so I really enjoyed reading one. It was great to read a dystopian that was set in Europe and not in the US for a change!

Firstly, I must mention that I really enjoyed the way Rebellion was written. Each chapter follows a week in the main character Cassia’s life and is written in first person. It feels almost as if we are reading her diary which makes her a very likeable character and you can’t help but share her emotions. Whilst this book is a dystopian, it focuses a lot on character building and so by the end of the book we got to know a whole group of characters (which I can’t wait to find out more about in book two).

In this book the Global Defence Organisation has taken over Europe, it is set in the fictional nation of Auria which was the last to be occupied and so tensions are high. Cassia is angry at the oppressive regime and so attempts to take down the system from within! Boyce is really good at creating plans which are complex enough that you are on edge waiting to see if they work, but also easy enough to follow and understand. There were quite a few twists throughout which really surprised me and made this book so hard to put down.

Boyce did a great job of building up the GDO and subtly revealing just how controlling and oppressive they really are. She also did a great job of showing the normal people from these oppressed nations who now have no choice but to work alongside the GDO and go against their own people. It was all done very realistically and at times it didn’t feel that crazy and far-fetched, like it could happen in the real world.

The only criticism I can think of for this book, it that I would have liked to have seen a little more world-building. However, this story is very character driven from the beginning and so that was to be expected. She did still build up the setting well throughout and we learned more about this oppressed dystpian Europe as the book progressed. I am curious to see what else we will learn in book 2.

I highly recommend this book as it is one of the best self-published books I have ever read! It was a very easy read and I loved that it was only around 300 pages, sometimes you just need a shorter book to get you out of a slump!

Thanks for reading! You can find Rebellion here:  Wordery / Book Depository / UK Amazon

3 thoughts on “Rebellion by Josephine Boyce – Review

Leave a Reply

