WeeReader Interviews: Mia Kuzniar!

Hello, I hope you have all had a great week and that you managed to get some writing done! This weekend I am interviewing the wonderful Mia Kuzniar who is one of my closest friends and my critique partner for my first book!

img_2798

Mia is one of the most motivational people I know and so I can’t wait for you to read her interview! I hope you enjoy, and don’t forget to show her some love over on her blog and Bookstagram!

 1. Introduce yourself! Who are you? What do you write / what genre? What are you currently working on? Do you have any published works?

Hey! I’m Mia and I love writing YA. I’ve written a fantasy YA book that I’m currently querying agents over and I’m going to be working on my next WIP really soon but that one’s a secret for now!

2. When did you first start writing and what motivated you to start?

Well I’ve always wanted to be a writer and as I’ve recently had a major life change – moving back to the UK from Spain – I’ve got some time on my hands to try and make this a reality for me before I have to find a job!

3. What inspires you to write? Can you tell us about the inspiration for any specific pieces of writing you have completed / are working on?

Anything can inspire me to write—an image on Pinterest, a dream or experience I’ve had, a piece of music or another book that gets me thinking. The last book I wrote, The Island and the Curse, begins on a rugged, desolated island which was inspired by a photo I saw on Pinterest. I saw the photo and thought “I wonder who would live there? And why?” One idea led to another and before I knew it, I was writing a fantasy set there!

4. How important is the planning stage for you? Do you like to plan everything before you start or do you simply start writing with a vague idea in mind?

I like to plan at least the basic points before I start writing so that I know where the writing is headed and where it will end up. Plus I like to include the odd plot twist and keep people guessing so I have to plan those things out!

5. What is your writing process like?

In a word, obsessive! When I get really into a WIP, I can’t switch the ideas off, so I spend most of the day writing manically. I even struggle to sleep as I can’t turn my brain off, so will often wake up in the middle of the night to jot notes down or write entire chapters.

6. What are your writing essentials / what do you use when you write?

A laptop, notebook and fun pens / washi tapes to doodle visuals, Pinterest to create mood boards and help with world building and oodles of caffeine! Preferably in the form of multiple mugs of coffee and chocolate.

7. What is your favourite thing to write? E.g. Dialogue, action scenes, saucy scenes…

I’m a big romantic so I love the romantic subplots between characters the most!

8. What do you think is the most difficult part of writing?

For me, it’s the perseverance with something that you know might never lead anywhere. Writing a book is a lot of work and takes effort and dedication. I’d write regardless of money as I love writing, but it would be nice to be able to write full time as my job!

9. It is always interesting to know what other writers listen to when writing. Do you listen to music whilst you write? If so, let us know some of the songs which have inspired you the most!

Yes, I love matching particular scenes with pieces of music that heighten my emotions and make me feel the writing more. I can’t think of any examples at the moment, it depends on the scene!

10. Do you ever struggle with writers block? What do you do to overcome it?

Not yet! When I do, I’ll let you know what happens!

Never stop writing, never give up. If it’s something you love, it doesn’t matter how difficult it is, you have to keep going. You are a writer and never let anybody tell you differently.

11. How do you go about researching for a new book? Do you have any tips for others who are researching for a book?

I love looking at Pinterest and creating boards for different aspects of my book. I’d advise everyone who’s writing to give it a go. I’m a hugely visual person so that appeals to me a lot. I also buy cute notebooks to keep all my research together when I’m googling things – it’s handy to jot things down so you can come back to them later. My next book is going to be a historical fiction so I’m joining my local library soon to investigate their history section for more detailed information.

12. Where do you find your inspiration for character names and place names? Do you ever name characters after people you know?

I like to invent character and place names. For my fantasy book, I looked at archaic names from different countries and played around with the spellings to name my characters. For places, I made a few up as well as using a fantasy name generator. I also looked at small town names in different countries on Google maps that sounded cool!

13. What are your future plans when it comes to writing or even publishing?

I’d love to be a published author so that I could write full time! It’s all I’ve ever wanted.

14. As we all love books I wondered, what are your five favourite books?

Ahhhh this is a terrible question! I have so many favourite books and a lot of them change according to what I’ve recently read or my mood! My ultimate favourite authors have to be J.K. Rowling, Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

15. Finally, where can we find you on social media?


I hope you enjoyed this weeks writer interview, I know I did! Next week I have another self-published author interview so you should be excited for that one! It’s very motivational.

Feel free to share or leave a comment on your way out!

3 thoughts on “WeeReader Interviews: Mia Kuzniar!

Leave a Reply

