10 Books I Want to Read Before 2016 Ends

The lovely PollyandBooks posted this gorgeous picture on Bookstagram and said that she was writing a list of the books she wanted to read before 2016 ended. I thought that sounded like a great idea so here I am with my list of 10 books I want to read before the end of the year.

snapseed

I hope you enjoy reading! Let me know what books you want to read before the end of the year!

1. The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

Firstly, The Final Empire. This was actually one of the first series that I bought mainly because I kept seeing it all over Bookstagram and Booktube. I read one of his other books called Warbreaker and loved it, so I don’t know why I haven’t picked this one up yet!

The Goodreads for The Final Empire is here!

2. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

This is another book that I bought a few years ago but haven’t read yet, despite it sitting on my shelves for ages. I was looking for books set in Scandinavia / Iceland and Burial Rites seemed like one of the best ones. I am still excited to read it, despite buying it years ago.

The Goodreads for Burial Rites is here!

3. Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4) by Morgan Rhodes

I buddy read the Falling Kingdoms in the summer in 2015 and enjoyed it (some of the books more than others.) I have just never picked up the fourth book for some reason, I added it to this list to motivate myself to read it as I know I’ll probably really enjoy it.

The Goodreads for Frozen Tides is here!

4. The Wrath & The Dawn ( TW&TD #1) by Renee Ahdieh

I have heard so many good things about The Wrath & The Dawn and when my sister read it she loved it. I really like that this is a duology and so I’ll hopefully be picking it up soon. The story sounds so interesting.

The Goodreads for The Wrath & The Dawn is here!

5. Poison Study (Study #1) by Maria V Snyder

I have wanted to read this book for a while after seeing Sasha from ABookUtopia really enjoying it. More recently Dahabo, who blogs over at Dee’s Library, really enjoyed it and that reminded me that I also really wanted to read it.

The Goodreads for Poison Study is here!

6. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

This book follows a 12 year old boy who is mourning the death of his mother. He has only his books for company and soon they begin to whisper to him in the darkness. This sounds like a really interesting and unique book and I can’t wait to read it.

The Goodreads for The Book of Lost Things is here!

7. Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy #1) by Juliet Marillier

I have heard great things about Juliet Marillier’s writing and I am really interested to read her books as they all seem to revolve around Celtic mythology and folklore, which I love. I randomly picked up Daughter of the Forest in a bookshop a while ago and definitely want to read it before this year is over!

The Goodreads for Daughter of The Forest is here!

8. Midnight Never Come (Onyx Court #1) by Marie Brennan

I picked this book up whilst in London with my sister at the beginning of the year. From the summary, it seems like underneath Elizabethan London there is a second London, a faerie London which is ruled by a second Queen called Invidiana! Elizabethan London + Faeries = A book I need to read ASAP!

The Goodreads for Midnight Never Come is here!

9. The Falconer (The Falconer #1) by Elizabeth May

I ordered this book from America a while ago because I think the UK cover is really ugly, but thankfully the US one is gorgeous! This book is set in Edinburgh in 1844 and I am really curious to see how Scotland is portrayed in a YA!

The Goodreads for The Falconer is here!

10. The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

I recently read The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley and absolutely loved it. I really enjoy her writing style and the way she writes about Scotland in both modern and historical times. I just had to add a Susanna Kearsley book to this list!

The Goodreads for The Shadowy Horses is here!

11. Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J Maas

I cheated a little by adding an eleventh book to this list, but I had to mention Empire of Storms which is being released on the 6th of September (21 days after this blog post goes up!) I am soooo excited for this book and am currently rereading the Throne of Glass series so that I am ready for it!


Thank you for reading, let me know some of the books that you plan to read before 2016 is over!

15 thoughts on “10 Books I Want to Read Before 2016 Ends

  1. I really want to read The Wrath and The Dawn too – I’ve only heard positive things! My friend just finished The Book of Lost Things too and really enjoyed it! I hope you get to them all by the end of the year 🙂

  2. Great list! I read The Wrath and the Dawn recently and LOVED it so so much. ❤ I've only read the first two books in the Falling Kingdoms series, but I want to finish the other two by the end of the year as well. There are so many books I want to read, but I've had Magnus Chase and The Darkest Part of the forest on my shelves for almost a year now, so I want to get to those.

  3. Half of these books are on my TBR too, they all look incredible! I loved TW&TD (i hope you do too) but still need to get the second book. Hope you manage to get to them all before 2017 😀

  4. Ha, i want read Throne of glass too, but in czech will be on October 4. part. But I have more like ACOTAR. Second part we will have in spring:(. But, bookoholic in czech rep. have similar challenge – how many book you can read for year? I strated in 100 books for year. But now, i read just 40 :D. So, i was very optimistic :D.

Leave a Reply

