The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson – Review

I try to only review books that I really enjoy here on my blog and recently I’ve been reading great books so I have another review for you today. I hope you enjoy!!

img_1685

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson – The Remnant Chronicles #1

  • US hardcover – 486 pages.
  • Release date: 8th July 2014
  • Published by Henry Holt and Co
  • ISBN: 0805099239
  • Goodreads page for The Kiss of Deception here!

This review is spoiler free!

Firstly, I need to start this review by saying that I really love Pearson’s writing style. She is brilliant at world building and I really felt like I could imagine each of the places the characters visited. I was surprised by the different landscapes this book was set in. From the cover I had expected it to be a UK / Western Europe type setting, so it was interesting to see different terrains. This book is a great example of world building done subtly, giving the readers a clear picture of the world.

The only thing stopping me from giving this book 5 stars is the pace. I found some parts, especially near the beginning, quite slow. However the second half of the book was much more exciting and so I flew through the last half in about a day. Despite the pace, I still really enjoyed the writing and everything we learned during the slower parts became important later on.

Everyone talks about how this book tricks you and so I thought I was prepared and wouldn’t let myself be fooled. BUT IT HAPPENED. It’s such a weird feeling to go back and reread parts and realise that you’ve been completely tricked. I love that the writing is so clever, although I was so annoyed that I fell for it!

I would have liked to have seen a little more character development as a lot of the characters still have quite mysterious pasts – but I assume we will learn more about in the 2nd and 3rd books so I don’t mind too much.

The main character was likeable but at times she was very stubborn which I found a little annoying, looking back I do like that she wasn’t just a flawless perfect main character. I liked that even the minor characters were well developed and so by the end of the book we know quite a lot of people! I loved the POV changes and I also liked that some of the chapters were very short, that always makes me feel like I am reading faster.

I am so glad I finally picked The Kiss of Deception up and I really recommend it! I can’t wait to go on and read the second book, The Heart of Betrayal!

15 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson – Review

  1. This has been in my TBR forever, but I always forget about it because it’s never in bookstores! I need to find it online 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it! Lovely review!

  2. Ahhh! Loved this book, I was mainly drawing in by the ‘mysterious/who’s, who’ element of the story but I can’t wait to read the rest of the series (I really need to by book two I have been meaning to for about a year now!) to find out more about this world and more political side of the plot as well as the romance of course!

  3. I’m so glad you liked this book! In my opinion, The Heart of Betrayal is even better! It gets darker and more complex… I hope you like it too! Great review Christine 💃

  4. I’ve seen it many time on bookstagram but never looked at reviews because my TBR is alreay gigantic, but wooooow I really want to read this now! Thank you for writing this, cannot wait to get my hands on The Kiss of Deception! (also your review kinda made me think of Queen of the Tearling!)

Leave a Reply

