The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley – Review

Firstly, I have to say that I absolutely LOVED this book! It has been a few days since I finished reading The Winter Sea and I still can’t stop thinking about it. If you like historical fiction or Scotland then I highly recommend you pick this book up.

img_1407

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley – Slains #1

  • US paperback – 536 pages.
  • Release date: 1st January 2008.
  • Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
  • ISBN: 1402241372
  • Goodreads page for The Winter Sea here!

This review is spoiler free!

So, this book follows Carrie an author who moves to Scotland to write her latest book. It turns out that she has ancestral memory about a Scottish ancestor in the 1700s. Soon she realises that what she is writing in her book is actually fact not fiction. I loved that throughout this book we got Carries POV as an author in Scotland, and also the historical POV of her ancestor. It’s a unique concept and I haven’t read any other books like this one!

It is clear that Kearsley really did her research for this book as she writes about Scotland, its history and even Scottish accents brilliantly. Usually I don’t like when authors write Scottish accents but as the book is set up north with people speaking Doric it worked well in this one. The writing style is very descriptive and it makes me just want to live in a little cottage up north and write books!

The character development was really great in both the modern chapters and the historical chapters. I found that I was engrossed in both of the story lines despite jumping between them. I also really liked each POV and both of the main characters were very likeable. There is some romance in The Winter Sea and surprisingly I loved it, which is unusual as often I don’t care much about the romance in books. It just shows how well it was written. I would have liked to have seen some saucy scenes thrown in there, but I’ll just use my imagination.

I don’t often cry whilst reading books, but I cried for pages and pages reading this one! So much so that I had mascara all down my face. I really wasn’t expecting to get emotional but Kearsley writes the characters so well that it’s impossible not to feel for them. This book is a standalone but I could happily have read multiple books about these characters.

There is a companion novel called The Firebird which takes place following different characters after The Winter Sea. I now need to rob a bank or sell an organ so that I can buy all of Susanna Kearsley’s books! If you haven’t read any before then I seriously urge you to pick one up!

The bookmark in the picture at the top is from an Etsy shop called Graceful Diligence!

5 thoughts on “The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley – Review

Leave a Reply

