Beautiful People (July Edition)

Hello, I stumbled across Beautiful People whilst browsing through Paper Fury‘s blog. Every month Paper Fury and Further up Further in set 10 questions for writers to answer about their characters. It lets others learn a little about your characters and helps you get to know them better as well!

I thought it would be fun to do this months Beautiful People and let you all get to know Morven from my first book a little better, I hope you enjoy reading!

Beautiful People

1. Do they want to get married and / or have children? Why / why not?

I think that secretly Morven would love to get married and have children one day. Family is a very important part of her life and think that if she found the right person she would get married very quickly (which her Ma would be very happy about.)

Unfortunately, no one knows how much longer she will survive and so surviving is her main focus, not getting married and having cute babies.

2. What is their weapon of choice? (It doesn’t necessarily have to be a physical weapon)

Morven’s weapon of choice would be her best friend Glen. She definitely relies on him to save the day in situations where weapons are needed. If Glen isn’t around to help then attempting to run as fast as she can or flailing and punching wildly are her two main weapons.

3. What’s the nicest thing they’ve done for someone else, and why did they do it?

Morven is just a generally nice person, and so I can’t think of any one especially nice thing she has done. This is an interesting question though, maybe I’ll have to add in some more nice things amongst all the angst and drama.

4. Have they ever been physically violent with someone, what instigated it?

Thankfully Morven’s childhood has been fairly violence free, unless you count play fighting with her two brothers (and losing) all the time. Her life becomes more violent when she leaves home and encounters new people and unknown threats!

5. Are they a rule-follower or a rebel?

I think she is a rule-follower. She lies to someone in one of the first chapters of the book and feels so guilty about it that she ends up confessing and telling the truth before the day is over. She is slightly more of a rebel when she travels to new places, mainly because she is very unprepared and has no idea what the rules are!

6. Are they organised or messy?

Messy. If Morven lived in the modern-day and had enough money to buy lots of things I am sure her room would be an absolute disaster (until her Ma came along and nagged at her to clean it).

7. What makes them feel loved, and who was the last person to make them feel that way?

Her family and friends. She has a very small and close family who love each other and care about each other. (It gives me so many feels, I love writing about them so much!)

8. What do they eat for breakfast?

Porridge of course, but also bread, eggs, meat, sometimes some berries if they’re in season. Not very much grows in my fantasy world based on Scotland over 1000 years ago and so breakfast options are very limited.

9. Have they ever lost someone close to them? What happened?

Without modern medicine and good diets people don’t live to very old ages, or at least the humans don’t. She has lost three of her grandparents and only her Granny remains, stubbornly refusing to die. A lot of children and teenagers have died in her village which upset everyone (you’ll find out why when I finally get around to editing and publishing the book!)

10. What’s their treat of choice? (Or, if not food, how else do they reward themselves?) 

Morven in her little farming village doesn’t really have the money or the resources for lots of treats. An extra hour or two in bed or a nice hot bath are two rewards she can easily give herself. During festivals they all eat and drink until they’re ready to explode, so I suppose that’s how they treat themselves!

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and getting to know the character I am writing about a little better. I really hope that one day you’ll be able to read the book about Morven’s story, keep your fingers crossed!

5 thoughts on “Beautiful People (July Edition)

  1. Oh oh I loved reading this!! And a fantasy-based Scottish world?! AHHHHH.😍 Morven (also I love her name!!) sounds really nice and I liked getting to *meet* her. 😀

    1. Thank you so much! YES! I’m so excited about it, as a Scot myself I’ve always wanted a fantasy word based on Scotland and Scottish folklore so I thought I’d just write it myself!

  2. I love reading this! Morven’s rule abiding personality reminds me very much of my own haha! I get so nervous that I end up confessing in the end and I’m also super messy just like Morven. She seems like such an interesting character. Gah! Your novel sounds amazing already!

Leave a Reply

