My Berlin Trip, 2016

At the end of June I went to Berlin, the capital city of Germany, with my sister. I thought it would be fun to write a post about my trip as I don’t travel very often and it’ll be a fun way to remember the trip. This blog post will also include a haul of all the bookish things I bought, I hope you enjoy!

image

The picture above I took whilst sitting beside the River Spree, which is probably my favourite spot in Berlin. The weather over there is warm even in the evenings, which makes a nice change when you are used to Scotland’s almost non-existent summers. I ended up people watching instead of reading, but I still took a picture anyway. The book I used in these pictures is The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley, which I am really enjoying so far!

Thalia

Whilst in Berlin, my sister and I visited the Thalia bookshop which sells mainly German books. It’s so interesting to browse and see the different editions. I ended up buying four things from Thalia:

Firstly, I bought the paperback edition of the first Harry Potter book which is Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen. Last year I bought the hardcover edition which has a different cover. I love that Harry always looks so sly on the German editions, I think it’s those tiny glasses that do it!

snapseed
Then I bought the German edition of Quidditch through the ages which is called Quidditch im Wandel der Zeiten! They had German editions of each of the companion books but I forced myself to only buy one. I just couldn’t resist this quirky cover, I love the face the snitch is making.

img_0926
Whilst browsing through the English section, I came across The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I have seen this book on Bookstagram and Booktube but never got around to purchasing it. It’s the international edition and so it’s a nice size. It’s smaller than the average UK paperback but larger than a mass market paperback.

img_0934
Finally, I bought this cute little paperback sized tote bag! How amazing is this?! When I saw them hanging up I just had to grab one, it’s so great for keeping my books safe when they are in my handbag! I loved the colour and it’s so cool with all the different languages on it! (Books: English, Livres: French, Boeken: Dutch, Bücher: German, Libris: Latin.)

img_0908

Deutsches Historisches Museum
My sister and I visited the German history museum because we are both really interested in history, and we also wanted to escape the sun for a while. It’s always interesting to wander around history museums in different countries, especially in countries where you don’t know much about their history. As we are both university students we got in for €4 each which is brilliant!

Whilst there I bought a gorgeous bookmark (in the picture of The Nightingales) of the painting Königin Luise als Hebe for dem Brandenburger Tor, 1812. I don’t know why but I just loved this painting and so I grabbed the bookmark as soon as I saw it! It was also really cheap and I love buying bookmarks on holiday.

Bebelplatz 

On our last day in Berlin, my sister and I visited Bebelplatz. Bebelplatz is a square in Berlin famous as it was one of the squares in which Nazi’s burned “un-German” books in May 1933. It was odd to stand in a gorgeous square, filled with tourists and families, and to think that 83 years ago 20,000 books were burned there.

As a tribute to the books burned, you can look through a glass panel down into a library with empty shelves. The shelves below have enough space to fit the 20,000 books that were set aflame all those years ago. I tried to get a picture but it was crowded with tourists and the glass panel really needs a wash! Apparently Bebelplatz and the book burning is part of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and so I may have to pick up that book one day in the future.

img_0859

Volkspark Friedrichshain

The picture isn’t the best quality, but the first line of the chapter in the picture is “She dreamt of the woods…” I thought it fitted in quite well with this gorgeous park that my sister and I visited. As I mentioned before, it was roasting in Berlin and so we spent a lot of time outside wandering around (and burning). I can’t seem to read whilst on holiday, I just want to take in my surroundings instead, but I took a picture anyway. If you are ever in Berlin I would suggest you visit this park as it’s beautiful!

img_0808

I hope you enjoy reading this post. It’s quite a long one, so 10 points to you if you actually read the whole thing. I would love if you left me a comment to let me know what you thought. I had such a great trip and I had so much fun writing up this post!

One thought on “My Berlin Trip, 2016

Leave a Reply

