June Wrap-Up & Book Haul 2016

Hello! I thought it would be fun if every month I brought you my monthly wrap-up as well as my book haul for the month. I love watching these sorts of videos on YouTube so I hope you enjoy reading my June wrap-up! This month I finally got out of my reading slump and so I am really pleased that I managed to read four books.

img_0919

Before I get into my wrap-up, I just wanted to mention that I finished the first draft of my first ever book this month! I wrote some blog posts about it which you can check out: My First Book & My First Draft & Writing Motivation!

I also went to Berlin, Germany this month and I wrote a post about my trip: My Berlin Trip, 2016!

June Wrap-Up 2016

1. A Darker Shade of Magic – VE Schwab

  • 4/5 stars.
  • Loved the magic system, it is explained really well and is easy to follow.
  • It was very interesting reading about the 4 different Londons and I loved that Grey London is set in Georgian times.
  • The two main characters Kell and Lila were very likeable and it was interesting to watch them get to know each other.

You can checkout my Goodreads review for more!

2. And I Darken – Kiersten White 

  • 5/5 stars.
  • One of my favourite books of 2016!
  • Loved reading a book set in Eastern Europe and the Ottoman Empire back in the 1400s. Such a unique time period and setting for YA.
  • Great to see LGBT and Muslim characters portrayed well in YA.

You can checkout my Goodreads review for more, or my blog review: And I Darken by Kiersten White!

3. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms – George R R Martin 

  • 4/5 stars.
  • Absolutely loved the two main characters Dunk and Egg, I hope we get more stories featuring the two of them!
  • So interesting to read novellas set 100 years before Game of Thrones, back when the Targaryens were still on the Iron throne.
  • The illustrations by Gary Gianni were great and really added to the story!

You can checkout my Goodreads review for more!

4. The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi 

  • 5/5 stars.
  • Absolutely beautiful writing, so descriptive and vibrant.
  • Loved that the world and plot was based on Hindu and Indian folklore, I have never read a YA like that before so it was very unique.
  • The book was very mysterious at the beginning, but then Part 2 was absolutely brilliant! The plot was so clever.

 You can checkout my Goodreads review for more, or my blog review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi!

June Book Haul 2016

I am trying to buy fewer books in 2016 because in 2015 I went crazy with my book buying! This month I accumulated 7 books, which is actually quite good as I didn’t buy all of them and a few were sent to me.

1. The Winter Sea – Susanna Kearsley

I had been eyeing up this book for a while and finally decided to purchase it because of ABookUtopia over on YouTube. Sasha read another one of Susanna Kearsley’s books and loved it, so I decided to finally give it a try.

Find it on: Goodreads / US Amazon / Wordery

2. Duskfall – Christopher Husberg

I was sent this book by the lovely people at Titan Books as I am on their press release list now (which is really exciting!) This book sounds like such an interesting fantasy so I can’t wait to read it.

Find it on: Goodreads / UK Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository

3. When We Collided – Emery Lord

The lovely Vicky, aka GingerbreadBooks on Bookstagram, sent me When We Collided after she ended up with duplicate copy from a subscription box. I never read contemporary so I am excited to give this one a go.

Find it on: Goodreads / UK Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository

4. A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas (Target hardcover)

Samantha, who blogs over at BookwormEverlasting, was kind enough to send me the Target hardcover of ACOMAF because it features an exclusive scene at the end. I hate that only Target editions keep getting these bonus features (it’s so unfair) but I am so glad that I got a copy!

Find it on: Goodreads / US Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository (These links are for the hardcover NOT the Target edition as that is only available in store!)

5. Ivory and Bone – Julie Eshbaugh.

This was the book which came inside June’s Fairy Loot Box! This was my last month of repping for Fairy Loot and I can’t wait to read this one!

Find it on: Goodreads / Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository

6. The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

 I bought this whilst in Berlin because I loved the size of the international edition. The links are for paperbacks and hardcovers not the international edition, but I made sure to link the same cover as the edition I bought.

Find it on: Goodreads / US Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository

7. Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen – JK Rowling

I already own the hardcover of the first Harry Potter book in German but the paperback is different and so I bought it whilst I was in Berlin. I could only find a link to buy it on the German Amazon so I left that below.

Find it on: Goodreads / German Amazon

8. Quidditch im Wandel der Zeiten – JK Rowling 

The German edition of Quidditch Through the Ages looks so cool and so I just had to pick it up whilst I was in Berlin. It was surprisingly easy to find online and so I left the links in case you want to add it to your collection!

Find it on: Goodreads / German Amazon / Wordery / Book Depository

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, feel free to leave me a comment and share it all over your social media! It too forever to link everything for this post, so feel free to go crazy and click all of the links to make it worth the time I spent…

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up & Book Haul 2016

  1. Happy to hear that you enjoyed ‘And I Darken’, I was debating whether or not to get it (the premise looks amazing) so I was looking around, and it seems all reviews speak highly of it. I adore the difference of the setting in this book, also the fact that it has an ‘anti-hero’. I mean, I haven’t read it, but those are the things that stand out to me the most!

Leave a Reply

