The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi – Review

Hello, I have another review for you today! I said I would only review books that I absolutely loved, and I absolutely loved The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi so I just needed to talk about it! You can find all of my reviews over on my Goodreads!

TSTQ 1

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi – The Star – Touched Queen #1.

  • US hardcover – 342 pages.
  • Release date: 26th April 2016.
  • Published by St. Martin’s Griffin.
  • ISBN: 1250085470.
  • Goodreads page for The Star-Touched Queen here!

This review is spoiler free!

The Star-Touched Queen is written in first person and follows the main character Maya who was born with a horoscope promising a marriage of death and destruction. Which of course causes her many problems as she is the daughter of the Raja (king). Throughout the book we read a lot of Maya’s thoughts and she does a lot of thinking and reflection. Sometimes I find this tedious, however it was written so beautifully that I ended up loving it. Maya goes on a journey, physically and mentally, throughout this book and I was constantly being shocked by the twists and turns in the plot.

I absolutely love Chokshi’s writing style and this book has made me so excited for more of her work to be published! Her next book A Crown of Wishes, the sequel to TSTQ, will be published in March 2017. Her writing is beautiful, vibrant, lyrical, descriptive: I can’t even find the words to properly describe it. At the start I was slightly unsure about the writing style, but then I started to think of the story more like a fairytale and I just fell in love with it. It takes a little while to get used to, but it is so worth it.

Part 1 of this book was very mysterious and for a while I thought it had an insta-love. As the plot progressed and Maya and the reader learned more, I realised that was not the case. Part 2 was what really made me love this book! I can definitely see me going back to reread this book, now that I know what happened at the end. I want to look back at all of the foreshadowing and see what I missed!

I loved that The Star-Touched Queen was based on Hinduism and Indian folklore as the author herself is half Indian. I know very little about Hinduism, however I have heard from other reviewers that it incorporates the culture and religion very well. It was so exciting to read about a culture so different from wgar I am used to reading in fantasy as most is very eurocentric.

I recommend this book to everyone. I especially think it will appeal to fans of  A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted due to the folklore and the beautiful writing. The author Sarah J Maas is even quoted on the cover saying:

“I was spellbound from the first line. A dazzling, sensuous feast of world-building, romance and mythology.”

TSTQ 2

3 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi – Review

Leave a Reply

