The Outlander Book Tag

Today has been a strange day. On one hand I hate that the UK has voted to leave the EU, but on the other I am so proud that in Scotland we voted to stay (although we are being dragged out anyway). Anyway, I thought I would do the Outlander Book Tag which was created by Sasha aka ABookUtopia on YouTube because I am feeling extra Scottish today! I found the questions on ItsABookishThing13’s blog so here is the link to her Outlander book Tag!

I hope you have fun reading this post, I had fun doing it and it really cheered me up!

Outlander

1. You touch some standing stones and get transported back in time, what year would you hope to land in?

I always find this question so hard to answer, wouldn’t life just be awful in the past? I would have no rights, by this age probably have no teeth left and life would be awful without a good shower! But all of that aside, I would love to travel back in time and actually see what the Vikings were like, so sometime during the years 700 to 1100. My favourite time periods to read about are the 1400s to the 1800s, so it would be interesting to go back there as well.

2. Claire is a very good nurse, what type of skill would you want to have that a fictional character excels at?

I would love to have magic like in Harry Potter, being a muggle is the worst! I always wonder which subjects I would be best at if I was in Hogwarts and it makes me so sad to think that I’ll never know!

3. Jamie and Claire are ultimate relationship goals, who is your favourite fictional couple?

I have so many, it’s impossible to pick single answers for these questions! I am currently obsessed with Game of Thrones so perhaps Daenerys and Drogo. I also read and loved A Court of Mist and Fury last month, I won’t spoil in case you haven’t read it, but I love the main couple in that! Also the main relationship in the Grisha trilogy, I love that it took so long to develop and it just makes me so happy.

4. The ending of Outlander was shocking, what is one ending of a book you read that totally blew your mind?

This is so difficult to answer! The ending of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo really took me by surprise and made me so excited for the next book Crooked Kingdom. The ending of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows will always be mind-blowing so I pick that as well.

5. Scotland has lots of castles and we see quite a few of them in Outlander. What fictional kingdom would you want as your own?

It’s slightly amusing to read these questions as someone who is actually Scottish, but yes there are quite a few castles. I would love to be the High Lady of The Night Court from the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J Maas. I also really love Winterfell and the North in Game of Thrones by George R R Martin, or maybe even Winter in Primoria from Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. The running theme here seems to be cold weather and mountains!

6. Outlander has some very steamy scenes; what is your favourite romance novel?

I don’t think I have ever read a book that is just romance, usually I read fantasy which just happens to have some added romance. I absolutely love the romance that develops in The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas although it is heartbreaking!

7. The Jacobite Rising is a huge plot point in the Outlander series; which book has your favourite battle in it?

The Jacobite Rising is a huge plot point, which is 100% frustrating as Scotland still doesn’t have independence… Anyway, I loved Half a War, the third book in The Shattered Sea trilogy by Joe Abercrombie. Most of the third book revolves around a battle and it is written so brilliantly.

8. Jamie and Claire get married very unexpectedly; which fictional character would you want to marry on a whim?

I would marry Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses on a whim!

9. Scotland is a beautiful place; what is one fictional world you would love to visit?

Scotland is beautiful… when you look at the highlands. I promise we also have quite average towns and cities mixed in with the mountains and lochs. I would like to visit the world in Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson, especially the city of T’Telir where much of the book takes place. I love that the magic system revolves around colour, it’s so interesting!

10. If you could change the past, would you?

I don’t think so, I would be worried in case I changed something that ended up making the future awful! If I had to pick one thing, maybe I would make the Jacobite Rising of 1745 less stupid and make it actually work. It would be interesting to see how Scotland developed as an independent country. *cries*

Tag somebody!

I tag Kate InfinitelyNovel, Mia The Cosy Reader and anyone else who is reading this!

13 thoughts on “The Outlander Book Tag

  1. I don’t know much about Scotland’s history, but watching Outlander’s first season it is frustrating to know how valiantly Scotland has fought for it’s independence and still not have it.

    1. Yeah, England has literally been annoying for about 1000 years haha! It’s odd seeing people on the internet talk about it as a book plot, when it’s still going on!

Leave a Reply

