Editing Bookstagram Pictures

Hello, today I thought I would share with you how I edit my bookstagram pictures. Thank you to Kate (InfinitelyNovel) for requesting this post. I take my pictures with my iPhone 6s and so whilst the quality looks okay on phones, if you are reading this on a computer or laptop then the images probably look slightly blurry.

I don’t do too much to edit my pictures, but I hope you enjoy this post anyway!

unedited pic

This is the picture in its unedited form. I always wait until I have good, bright lighting to take pictures. The light in my room can be very dark blue, darker than it is here, and so I sometimes can’t take any pictures. It drives me crazy. I find that the lighting is best if it cloudy but bright outside or if there is snow (which hardly ever happens) as that makes everything very bright. I don’t do a lot of editing, but I like to brighten my pictures and improve the quality.

Afterlight

The first app I use to edit my pictures is Afterlight. You can download it from the app store for £0.79 and it’s definitely worth paying for. The first thing I always do is adjust the brightness, I don’t use a specific %, I just increase it until it looks good. Then I use the clarify tool and sometimes the sharpening tool to improve the quality, especially as brightening sometimes blurs it.

Snapseed

The next app I use is called Snapseed. I only recently discovered it and it’s great as it’s free to download. I firstly use it to increase the saturation as my brightening on Afterlight can wash out the colours in my pictures. I do often end up using their brightness tool as well, especially if the lighting was dark when I took the picture. Snapseed is good as it lets you brighten certain areas, blur things and do more specific editing which Afterlight doesn’t allow.

edited pic

Here is the picture once I have edited it on both Afterlight and Snapseed. You might not think it looks very different, but to me it looks so much better. Everything is much brighter and the book’s cover looks much more vibrant. Even the tea looks much more appealing!

My final step is always to upload the picture to Instagram so that I can compare the colours to the rest of my feed. Sometimes it looks completely different and so I have to change the brightness or start again. I can be very picky and so often I do this over and over until I end up giving up. I think it always helps to get a second opinion so often I ask my sister or some friends on bookstagram what they think of the colours. I am trying not to be as picky and to not worry too much about colours being exactly the same, but it’s a hard habit to break.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I had a lot of fun making it!

Instagram feed
Enter a caption
16 thoughts on “Editing Bookstagram Pictures

  1. This is such an interesting post! I love reading about how people edit their pictures and your Instagram feed is just so lovely, Christine! ❤️ I usually take my pics on my 5s when the lighting is good and add a filter on VSCO

  2. I found this so interesting! When I do mine, I just use the edit options on the actual Instagram app because I’m too lazy to get other apps for it ahaha! 😀 Though at the moment my theme is annoying me because it’s mostly white backgrounds, but the photos I have are more grey than the rest *facepalm* Really need to do another photoshoot

    1. Thank you! I used to just use Instagram’s filter, but ages ago then changed them and it made me move on to other apps. I think you feed still looks great!

  3. this is such a cool idea! I always love getting to know how other people edit their pictures and yours is pretty similiar to my “routine” 😀

    xo Anne @ anne-books.blogspot.de

  4. As I’ve mentioned to you several times, I love knowing how other people edit their photos! I’m definitely going to have to check out Snapseed: I like the idea of being able to brighten certain areas of photos (take that, you pesky shadows)!

    1. Yes! It’s so good for getting rid of shadows and brightening certain bits! You should definitely check it out. I hope you one day do a how you edit post!!

  5. Great post! I used to use the camera edit program that’s part of the Apple OS. It’s actually not bad, but I read a post by Sarah @newleafwriter on how she edits her pictures and she mentioned she uses the Camera Plus app. I love it because of The Lab which has so many editing tools. I will have to check out Snapseed because I like the ability to brightened only certain parts of pictures. I don’t know if Camera Plus can do that.

    1. Thank you! Oh, I didn’t even realise that Apple had a photo editing feature oops. Ill have to check out Camera Plus! I would definitely recommend Snapseed!

Leave a Reply

